Daily Inspiration #89 - John D. Rockefeller - Good for Great

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

Daily Inspiration #89
John D. Rockefeller
Good for Great
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational-Quotes-Inspiring-Encouraging-Quotes-#89.jpg

John Davison Rockefeller Sr. (July 8, 1839 – May 23, 1937) was an American oil industry business magnate and philanthropist. Widely considered the wealthiest American of all time and the richest person in modern history, Rockefeller was born into a large family in upstate New York and was shaped by his con man father and religious mother. His family moved several times before eventually settling in Cleveland, Ohio.
Source

John D. Rockefeller.jpg
Source

I'd say most of us have at least heard this guys name.

Here is a great quote from him.

"Don't be afraid to give up the good to go for the great."

So....

You ever settled for good enough?

You ever looked out at life and said, "What I have now is good but I would rather have better."?

The truth is in every persons life, no matter how it seems, there is room for improvement.

We always have to have something more to look forward to or life will get very dull, very quick.

This is one of the reasons I have never been a fan of contentment.

I've always taken it as a bad sign actually.

thumb down no good no way bad.jpg
Source

People often mistake contentment for happiness.

Let me tell you something...

Contentment is not happiness!!

"But I feel happy...."

Really?!

Are you smiling?

Are you exited?

Are you really looking forward to the next move?

If you were happy you would have answered yes to all of these questions.

You see, when we are content, we do what we can to convince ourselves that we are happy.

We even believe it sometimes.

Look at this...

Heightened, intense emotions, focused correctly, are what bring our goals faster and more intensely than anything at all.

If we are merely content, we are not experiencing heightened emotion, or are rarely experiencing it.

Being content is being just fine, ok, alright or we may say things are doable.

ok okay content just fine.jpg

Have you ever thought of what you are saying when you say "just fine"?

Well, just means only or merely...

"I am only fine. I am merely fine. But I am not any more than fine." lol

Bad things aren't generally attracted to contentment.

Mildly good things are, so it is a better place to be than angry or discontent.

It still isn't happy.

It still is not exited.

We are not pumped when we feel content.

We are just content.

I don't mean this instant...

We are all able to look at life and decide how it feels overall and that is what I'm referring to.

Personally, I pretty much hate this feeling, and I really avoid using the word hate.

The amount we can attract to ourselves being merely content is far less than we are capable of.

It is actually almost stagnate, moving quite slowly in fact.

slow snail.jpg
Source

If you want to really kill it, you need to be happy or excited about what you are doing!

If you want to accomplish great things in life you will travel down the path of your goals much faster with a very heightened emotion at your center like happiness, joy or excitement.

So if what you have now is good, and what you want is great, then ask yourself:

Am I happy about what I'm doing?

Does what I'm doing make me excited?

Does my life right now bring me joy regularly?

If I look to my deepest center, what emotion is there filling that space?

There will only be one emotion at our true center.

One emotion will rule our general outlook on life.

What is yours?

Always remember,

"Don't be afraid to give up the good to go for the great."

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 #34 #35 #36 #37 #38 #39 #40 #41 #42 #43 #44 #45 #46 #47 #48 #49 #50 #51 #52 #53 #54 #55 #56 #57 #58 #59 #60 #61 #62 #63 #64 #65 #66 #67 #68 #69 #70 #71 #72 #73 #74 #75 #76 #77 #78 #79 #80 #81 #82 #83 #84 #85 #86 #87 #88

Sort:  

That's actually a very good advice that "Don't be afraid to give up the good to go for the great." But one more advice would be appropriate here that while transition from good to great secure your good, because there should be something which will be holding your back. Great post

Never let anything hold you back.

Great minds think alike... I recently bartered to get an education from a millionaire. I know how to make money but I'm tired of always being broke.

The next ceiling I need to break through is a biggie and I'm looking forward to it!!! thanks for another great post. Sharing the love.

Nice accomplishment bro!

Crush it man!!!

Hit it with everything you have!

Thanks... I'm getting a nuke for this one

that's what's up!

thank you for sending a very good story and inspiring once, can be made one motivation.

you are welcome

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michaeldavid to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

the word inspiration is very good, sometimes humans dare not release good to get the best because they are afraid not get it, but every good will be repaid several times good...

It's true, if we are willing to let go and have a little faith we can achieve great things.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.46 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @michaeldavid. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This was a good one. Rockefeller, the name speaks volumes and usually I think of wealth and owning half of New York City. Disgusting wealth I'll never know lol Good daily I my friend. I won't look at saying I'm fine the same again..

Disgusting wealth is right too lol

Thanks!

This post has received a 5.76 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @michaeldavid.

full inspiration! GREAT.

Thanks man, that's what I'm all about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84