Daily Inspiration #41 - Benjamin Franklin - Involve Me

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

Daily Inspiration #41
Benjamin Franklin
Involve me
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational Quotes Inspiring-Encouraging Quotes #41.jpg

Benjamin Franklin FRS, FRSE (January 17, 1706 [O.S. January 6, 1705] – April 17, 1790) was one of the Founding Fathers of the United States. Franklin was a renowned polymath and a leading author, printer, political theorist, politician, freemason, postmaster, scientist, inventor, civic activist, statesman, and diplomat. As a scientist, he was a major figure in the American Enlightenment and the history of physics for his discoveries and theories regarding electricity. As an inventor, he is known for the lightning rod, bifocals, and the Franklin stove, among other inventions. He facilitated many civic organizations, including Philadelphia's fire department and the University of Pennsylvania, an Ivy League institution.

Ben Franklin Benjamin Franklin.jpg
Source

Most of us know who this is.

He had something great to share about learning.

“Tell me and I forget,
teach me and I may remember,
involve me and I learn."

We can learn a lot from reading and listening to other people.

We learn best though from doing.

I can't tell you how many times I've thought I understood how to do something from reading about how to do it.

reading learning.jpg
Source

Only to find out when I actually did it that I had misunderstood part of it.

It's also pretty obvious that we will learn best when immersed in something.

Why is that though?

What I've come to understand is that when you talk about something, read it or do it different parts of your brain are being activated.

mind brain.jpg
Source

When we do something, since we are there seeing, touching, smelling or tasting there are far more senses actively involved in the process.

This effectively means that we are learning from that many more angles.

We may be learning through touch or sight, sound or taste as we do it.

Each one of these angles adds to the impact of what we are learning.

So if you are trying to learn something, do whatever you can to actually do it.

Even before you really know enough about it.

This can really speed up your learning process and ultimately put you ahead of the game.

Remember,

“Tell me and I forget,
teach me and I may remember,
involve me and I learn."

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 #34 #35 #36 #37 #38 #39 #40

Sort:  

Was Ben Franklin an Atheist?

I really don't know. I'm not sure how it would matter either.

HE IS ONE OF THE GREAT PERSONALITY

yea, he did have some good inspiration

Love that quote, one of my favorites. Got a meme or something with it somewhere...you the man Michael. Keep busting out amazing posts man.

Thanks again bro. Let's keep climbin. Nice to see the alliance growing!

Thanks to the US Mint I did have a picture in my mind for Ben and its a good one :). It is interesting what his thoughts imply for the direction of education in that much of it is going on line to reduce costs. The downside is obvious we end up learning from a single angle only.

Perhaps mainstream adoption of 3D immersion can change that since i think computer learning and communication is here to stay it can only move forward to engage more of our senses.

love Benjamin F..:) great inspirational post, will resteem now and upvote when my power backs, cheers thealliance :-)

Thanks man!

So true! Especially if you are a hands on or tactile learner!

Especially so. :)

Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54