Daily Inspiration #30 - Venus Williams - Focus

in #inspiration7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #30
Venus Williams
Focus
Daily InspirationalMotivational Quotes InspiringEncouraging Quotes #30 -Venus Williams - Focus.jpg

Venus Ebony Starr Williams (born June 17, 1980) is an American professional tennis player who is generally regarded as one of the all-time greats of women's tennis and who, along with younger sister Serena Williams, is credited with ushering in a new era of power and athleticism on the women's professional tennis tour.
Source

Venus Williams Focus Inspiration Education Motivation Quote.jpg
Source

Venus is held in pretty high regard in the world of tennis.

She has accomplished quite a lot.

What she says about focus is what drew my attention.


"I don't focus on what I'm up against.
I focus on my goals and I try to ignore the rest."



This statement is really important.

What we put our focus into is exactly what we will get.

If we are focused on what we are up against things will be very difficult.

If we focus on what we don't want, we will get what we don't want.

If we focus on what we do want we will get what we do want.

Think about how many times this has happened:

Something goes wrong or not the way you wanted it to.

You got mad and started saying things like, "I can't believe that this or that happened... This or that suck and that's not what I wanted."

Angry, focus on what you want.jpg
Source

You wanted "A", got "B" and started focusing all of that anger on "B".

Sometimes this moment can last for sometime...

"Why did "B" have to happen?

I hate it when "B" happens!

"B" happens to me all the time."

If this sounds familiar then do keep reading because there is a very easy way to turn all of this around.

It's perfectly natural to get mad when something doesn't go right.

If anger were bad in and of itself the emotion wouldn't exist.

Anger is a very useful part of your emotional guidance system.

Emotional Guidance System.jpg
Source

The trick is using it in a way that is beneficial and not harmful.

The trick is what you focus it on.

Here, I'll show you:

Something doesn't go right, you get mad...

"A" is what you want, "B" is what you don't want.

"Man I'm so mad, I can't believe I didn't get "A"!

"Why didn't I get "A"?!"

"What the @#$% do I have to do to get "A"?!"

Notice no mentions of "B"?

Now, I'm not saying to get mad all the time.

I'm saying if you are already mad, sad or experiencing a powerful negative emotion you can use it to your advantage if you simply focus it on what you do want instead of what you don't want.

Focus on what you do want.jpg
Source

At first this will be a conscious decision and even pretty hard to do.

Eventually you will do it naturally and it will be quite easy.

When you do this you will notice more clarity in the situation.

Your anger will also subside easier and very soon your answers will begin to come.

You can often tell who is going to win a head to head in nearly any competition be it sports or singing by what the people say in their intro.

Focus on Winning.jpg
Source

Listen closely and feel their physiology.

One will be focused solely on winning and seem totally confident.

The other will seem less confident and their focus will be somewhere else (The other competitor, homelife, the audience, etc...).

So pay attention, if you notice your thoughts words or actions are focused on the thing you don't want, then grab the wheel and steer them back toward what you do want!

Be sure to remember what Venus said:


"I don't focus on what I'm up against.
I focus on my goals and I try to ignore the rest."


Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaeldavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Michael David from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I had a crush on her for a minute lol

I get it :)

LMAO good words from her though, I never really payed attention to what she was saying...just like watching her bounce around the court ;)

haha! Of course! She did talk though, promise lol

Michael, I think this is a great post. Venus Williams is an inspiring example, and I think the take-away from her quotation is a valuable piece of advice too. As you rightly have pointed out.

Thanks a lot @judyroberts! I really appreciate your take on my posts! It's always encouraging. :)

Love this and she's a badass! <3

Thank you @awarenessraiser! She totally is!

Another inspiring post.

ahhhh!!

Feed the whales!

Hi Michael!! Nice to see another post from you in my feed today. You do a great job of expanding your thoughts to really get to the inspiration and teach the points that you want us to learn. Sending you a hug @michaeldavid!! Resteemed and sharing your post on Linked In. I have over 18,600 first level connections there.

Wow, such a thoughtful reply! That feels wonderful! Thank you soooo much @sallykwitt for the resteem and the share on Linkedin. I'm just barely forming a presence there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73