Daily Inspiration #33 - Will Rogers - Don't Just Sit There

in #inspiratioin7 years ago (edited)

Daily Inspiration #33
Will Rogers
Don't Just Sit There
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational Quotes Inspiring-Encouraging Quotes #33 -Will Rogers - Dont Just Sit There.jpg

William Penn Adair "Will" Rogers (November 4, 1879 – August 15, 1935) was a stage and motion picture actor, vaudeville performer, American cowboy, humorist, newspaper columnist, and social commentator.

Known as "Oklahoma's Favorite Son", Rogers was born to a prominent Cherokee Nation family in Indian Territory (now part of Oklahoma). He traveled around the world three times, made 71 movies (50 silent films and 21 "talkies"), and wrote more than 4,000 nationally syndicated newspaper columns. By the mid-1930s, the American people adored Rogers. He was the leading political wit of his time, and was the highest paid Hollywood movie star. Rogers died in 1935 with aviator Wiley Post, when their small airplane crashed in northern Alaska.
Source

Will Rogers 1922.jpg
Source

I'm going to keep today's inspiration brief, I apologize in advance for the lack of pictures.

This guys quote about speaks for itself.


"Even if you're on the right track,
you'll get run over if you just sit there."

This is such a true statement.

We can't just sit there.

Especially if we are on the right track.

If we are moving forward at a steady pace we will be gaining momentum.

When we stop, that momentum is still pushing.

Not to mention all of the other people and things on our path.

We can stop for a second to enjoy life but when we stop entirely we get run over.

This sort of hits home for me.

I used to wire wrap (make jewelry with wire).

I was great at it, did it for about 15 years, became pretty well known with it all over the country, and even developed many of the techniques that you commonly see used today.

Then I moved to Oregon to raise kids, after a couple years I returned to the scene.

It was all new people, many of them using techniques they didn't even know I had developed, and no one knew who I was anymore.

I got ran over so to speak.

It didn't feel great (well, I was flattered to see my techniques everywhere) but I moved on.

Well, I've been out of wire for some time now, life has a way of pulling you in a different direction sometimes.

I do miss it on occasion.

My lesson was learned, keep moving forward, especially once you've built momentum.

So, if you've been building momentum in something be sure to keep it up.

Remember,


"Even if you're on the right track,
you'll get run over if you just sit there."

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaeldavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I knew of Will but had no idea he was so well traveled and did so many Movies

That is such a great quote and well expanded on in this post, rings true to me with some things going on with me at the moment so thanks

You know it bro! I didn't have a lot to put into it today but didn't want to get ran over lol

Well thats another example of the importance of your inspiration in this post ;)

I guess so lol

...just keep swimming...just keep swimming...
Nice shot man, bullseye.

haha, perfect!

Think you're the only one catching my puns around here lol

guess so lol

more great inspiration man, really loving these post.

Thanks a lot bro!

good to see an interesting inspiration for today

Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54