Daily Inspiration #27 - Anaïs Nin - Courage

in #inspiration7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #27
Anaïs Nin
Courage
Daily InspirationalMotivational Quotes InspiringEncouraging Quotes #27 -Anaïs Nin - Courage.jpg

Anaïs Nin (Spanish: [anaˈis ˈnin]; born Angela Anaïs Juana Antolina Rosa Edelmira Nin y Culmell; February 21, 1903 – January 14, 1977) was an essayist and memoirist born to Cuban parents in France, where she was also raised. She spent some time in Spain and Cuba, but lived most of her life in the United States, where she became an established author. She wrote journals (which span more than 60 years, beginning when she was 11 years old and ending shortly before her death), novels, critical studies, essays, short stories, and erotica. A great deal of her work, including Delta of Venus and Little Birds, was published posthumously.
Source

Anais Nin Inspiration Motivation education daily quote.jpg
Source

Ok guys, throwing a curve ball at you today.

I really don't know much about her.

I do however love this statement that she made.

"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage."

Wow! I really love this!

It is so true!

I have a personal story to share about this.

A couple years back I was attempting a somewhat new business venture.

I had also been training myself to immediately check my thoughts when I hurt myself as this is usually a crunch moment (more on that in a different post).

Check thoughts.jpg
Source

Well, I was in my attic moving things around and at the same time in deep thought about my new venture.

I stepped across the attic hole and didn't reach out far enough with my leg.

I fell into the attic hole and luckily was stopped hard when my shin hit the outside frame of the attic opening.

It hurt, it hurt bad!

I was already tuned to check my thoughts so naturally that's where I went.

The only thought in my head, screaming quite loud I might add, was "Take bigger steps!".

Well as funny as it was, while I was crying in agony and laughing at my psyche at the same time, it was also quite profound.

crying hurt pain.jpg
Source

I had been afraid to take bigger steps in business.

I lacked the courage.

You see, what I learned was, in life we all have an amount of steps we will take.

We can take small steps, we can take large steps and we can even stand still.

If we take small steps we will move forward.

If we take large steps we will move forward much quicker.

have courage take bigger steps.jpg
Source

The more we do in each step the larger we will ultimately grow.

Courage may be your deciding factor in something.

I can tell you with absolute certainty that if you act out of courage, your life will be much more expansive than if you lack courage.

Courage is rewarded.

Every person has 24 hours in a day.

The courageous attack those hours with ferocity and discover greatness!

Remember:

"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage."

Do something courageous in your life today!

Thanks for reading.
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaeldavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

muy buen contenido gracias por compartir

You are welcome. I'm glad you like it!

Too true man, too true. Grats on hitting 50 btw :)

Thanks bro, I just noticed that myself!

I'm happy to read how courageous you are.

I could easily say that you are also @miriamslozberg. You press on straight through your depression each day to bring us your thoughts. Keep smilin! :)

Great post, reminds me of my cheesy motivational poster on my wall, that says "Power gravitates to those who have courage"

Sounds like something nice to have on the wall! I actually used to write quotes like this that I had gained something from on my walls so they would be visible when I needed to remember or refresh.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54