Daily Inspiration #87 - Edward Derek Jeter - Work Hard

in #inspiration7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #87
Edward Derek Jeter
Work Hard
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational-Quotes-Inspiring-Encouraging-Quotes-#87.jpg

Derek Sanderson Jeter (born June 26, 1974) is an American former professional baseball shortstop and the incoming CEO and part owner of the Miami Marlins. Jeter played 20 seasons in Major League Baseball (MLB) for the New York Yankees. A five-time World Series champion, Jeter is regarded as a central figure of the Yankees' success of the late 1990s and early 2000s for his hitting, baserunning, fielding, and leadership. He is the Yankees' all-time career leader in hits (3,465), doubles (544), games played (2,747), stolen bases (358), times on base (4,716), plate appearances (12,602) and at bats (11,195).[1] His accolades include 14 All-Star selections, five Gold Glove Awards, five Silver Slugger Awards, two Hank Aaron Awards, and a Roberto Clemente Award. Jeter was the 28th player to reach 3,000 hits and finished his career ranked sixth in MLB history in career hits and first among shortstops. In 2017, the Yankees retired his uniform number 2.
Source

Derek Jeter batting.jpg
Source

He's given us a great quote for today.

"There may be people that have more talent than you,
but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.”

I was taught at a young age that no matter how good I got at something there would always be someone else that was better than me at it.

I can remember, as a kid, pondering that statement for quite some time.

Eventually I realized that I really was not meant to compete to be the best at something but to be the best I could be at something.

I also noticed that there were many people that seemed to have natural talent at things, while others simply worked hard.

I was in fact on of these people that had natural talent with certain things.

For me, it made me think that practice wasn't as necessary.

Thinking Think about it pondering.jpg
Source

Thing is that talent only gets you so far.

Here is what I have come to learn about this issue:

Talent is inside you, it is not something you can teach, it is simply part of you.

Skill is something that you grow through practice and hard work.

A person with no real talent for something can, through enough hard work and practice, display what seems to be immense talent.

A person with natural talent will seem to be great at something at first, but without hard work and practice, will fall far behind others in his desired area of expertise.

A person with natural talent that also practices and works hard can become one of the best in his field.

Win.jpg
Source

It's easy to be intimidated by people with talent but I would beg you to consider a couple things.

First and foremost, you are not in competition with them.

You are in competition only with yourself.

Next would be how hard are they working at advancing that talent, are they practicing regularly or relying on their talent to get them by?

Lastly I would ask, how hard are you working at it and how much practice are you putting in?

We can't view talent or talented people as an end all be all.

Let them be talented.

If you are working hard and practicing hard then nothing can really stand in your way.

moving forward.jpg
Source

If you lose something to someone with more talent then practice and work harder.

Eventually the skill you've gained from all your hard work will show you to be the talented one.

Eventually you will be doing these things so easily that you will not remember life when you couldn't.

So if you are concerned about those around you with more talent, remember that time can change all of that if you are practicing and working harder than they are.

Remember,

"There may be people that have more talent than you,
but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.”

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 #34 #35 #36 #37 #38 #39 #40 #41 #42 #43 #44 #45 #46 #47 #48 #49 #50 #51 #52 #53 #54 #55 #56 #57 #58 #59 #60 #61 #62 #63 #64 #65 #66 #67 #68 #69 #70 #71 #72 #73 #74 #75 #76 #77 #78 #79 #80 #81 #82 #83 #84 #85 #86

Sort:  

This is beautifully said again mate! I have been complimented quite a lot of time about my talent, but trust me, I am still not satisfied with my level and i am always learning and working harder each and everyday to make better dish/plates. We never stop learning.

That is beautiful man!

I used to feel that very same way when i was making jewelry. I was always looking to the next piece and how I could advance my techniques.

You are so right! For some, certain skills come naturally. There's no reason why one cannot work hard to achieve these same levels!

Bravo, great post!

Thanks princes!

We really can...

To become the master, we must master the basics.

Yes very good advice in this post,
I remember my Great Uncle who was like a grandfather to me would say often being naturally good at something but if you don't work at it and always strive to improve you will never excel at anything.

Not sure I have ever been naturally good at anything, I had a passion for Rugby so from 14 I was up at 4AM to get two hours of exercise in before school and that helped me to do pretty well in it

I think the key with anything whether a job, sport or even a Hobby is to know whatever you do there will always be someone that is better than you perhaps thousands but always strive to be learning and improving

I hope to always make the best

i`ve read your post its really helpful and useful good jop keep going :) upvoted and followed

Thanks so much man. I love to see people gaining from them :)

I like it..best info, helpful

very good post ,,,,

thanks for you too, my friend please upvote me too.

My favorite Yankee ever. Have a black bat with his signature and a baseball glove. None finer to represent the game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80