Daily Inspiration #32 - Steven King - Get to Work

in #inspiratioin7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #32
Steven King
Get to Work
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational Quotes Inspiring-Encouraging Quotes #32 -Steven King - Get to Work.jpg

Stephen Edwin King (born September 21, 1947) is an American author of horror, supernatural fiction, suspense, science fiction, and fantasy. His books have sold more than 350 million copies, many of which have been adapted into feature films, miniseries, television shows, and comic books. King has published 54 novels, including seven under the pen name Richard Bachman, and six non-fiction books. He has written nearly 200 short stories, most of which have been collected in book collections. Many of his stories are set in his home state of Maine. His novella Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption was the basis for the movie The Shawshank Redemption which is widely regarded as one of the greatest films of all time.
Source

Steven King.jpg
Source

While I was never a fan of horror really, this guy was really a great writer.

He's really written a lot also.

Something he said that I found inspiring was:


"Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration,
the rest of us just get up and go to work."

Well, as cocky as that may sound, he is really right.

It happens a lot ya know.

We find ourselves waiting around for something to inspire us toward our next step and not actually getting anywhere.

waiting for inspiration or motivation.jpg
Source

However something magical happens when we just dive right into something, inspiration or not...

Things begin to show themselves!

We attract things to us that relate to what we are focusing on in the moment.

We find things that will inspire us to go that small step further until eventually we are finished with whatever we were working on.

Idea inspiration motivation education.jpg
Source

The inspiration will, often times, come from the act of starting!

Now, there are times that, simply put, it's not the right time.

However, I think you'll find that much more of the time we are just fooling ourselves into believing that.

Take this blog for example...

I have chosen to do this thing every day.

There are days when I wake up and have no inspiration at all.

No Inspiration or Motivation.jpg
Source

I could wait, but what I've found is that when I just start, things come to me.

Before you know it, you guys are reading it and the rest is history.

Now, I am not saying to rush through things.

Rushing ahead in life usually only leaves you behind.

I'm saying have the grit to just dig in and start.

Don't sit around.

Trust that your inner self will give you direction once you are engulfed by the work you've set out to do.

So the next time you are short on inspiration, try just starting the project.

You may just surprise yourself!

If it helps you, remember what Steven King said:


"Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration,
the rest of us just get up and go to work."

Then dive in and get to work!

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31

Sort:  

Great quote, keep it up man.

Thanks @phelimint!

Amazing Inspiration @michaeldavid i like it
i just upvoted your post thaks for sharing with us

Thanks a lot @zeeshankhan! I appreciate the comment

Love it! Unlike you though, I was a big horror fan. Not so much because I was into it as a kid, but my mom had like every Steven King book written. First book I chose to read on my own was by him. Cujo. Then my mom said don't read this one. So I did. And IT scared the piss outta me. But I loved the adrenaline rush of fear so...was sold on horror. As for his quote, brilliant fella and dead on.

Dead on, nice one! I've seen a few of his movies. Super talented

Congratulations @michaeldavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

very good man! follow me

Thanks a lot man!

VERY well said! Once you start - kick your butt so to speak, the rest takes care of itself and it all unfolds.

"You do not need to see the whole staircase, just take the first step"

Great post @michaeldavid - LOVE IT x

Thanks soo much @jaynie! You're absolutely right!

only a pleasure :)

Another great post (as always) Michael!

Nothing will work if you don't good post, as always 😊

Are you threatening me!? My bungole will not wait!

NOM NOM NOMS!

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

I am Cornholio! You will name your baby Bungholio! Is he an albino? Holio Bungholio... will be albino... and a gringo....

I love stephen king and I love this. Wjem you know your why you just get up and do. Even when you dont feel like it.

So true @thequeendizzle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52