Daily Inspiration #43 - George Allan - Too Many Things

in #inspiration7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #43
George Allan
Too Many Things
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational Quotes Inspiring-Encouraging Quotes #43.jpg

George Herbert Allen (April 29, 1918 – December 31, 1990) was an American football coach in the National Football League and the United States Football League. He was inducted into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame in 1998 and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002. He is the father of the Republican politician George Allen who served as Governor and U.S. Senator from Virginia.

George Allen.jpg
Source

Ok, let's check out what ole George had to say:

“Try not to do too many things at once.
Know what you want, the number one thing today and tomorrow.
Persevere and get it done."

I gotta tell ya.

In my life I have been known to take on to many projects.

All of them are great ideas!

With any one of them I could make a million.

money cash million.jpg
Source

Thing is I usually have trouble picking the one that I want to put all of my focus into.

So, I usually pick several.

Well the truth is you can do whatever you want, you can pick 100 things to do if you wish.

However each and every one of those things takes a piece of your focus.

pieces divided less focus spread out.jpg
Source

Meaning that the more things you are doing the less focus you can put on each.

To be truly efficient you would pick only one thing and do, essentially putting 100% of your focus on that thing and reaping 100% reward from it.

It's called singleness of purpose!

It's hard for us to do but the closer we can get to that the more powerful we are.

Do you know what synergy is?

syn·er·gy
ˈsinərjē
noun
the interaction or cooperation of two or more organizations, substances, or other agents to produce a combined effect greater than the sum of their separate effects.
Source

synergy focused.jpg
Source

Synergy is a very real and nearly limitless concept.

So, lets say you have 4 businesses that you run and you make $100,000 per year from each one.

Most people will be happy with this, and they may be doing quite well in fact.

However, if you were to consolidate this into only one business would you make $400,000 per year?

Likely not.

Once you are up and going full steem (pun intended) ahead you would most likely pull $1,000,000 or more!

Not to mention the rate at which you grow would be greatly increased.

focused growth.jpg
Source

Because now your focus would not be divided into 4 businesses, it would be consolidated into only one.

The focus you were exhausting in the 4 businesses would now join into one focus thus producing an outcome far greater than the sum of the original 4 parts.

Now if those businesses were being ran by someone else that is passionate about each, and your involvement were more passive than active, then your focus may not be divided at all.

The example I used is assuming you are actively building these businesses.

Our success is a direct reflection of our focus.

The more we focus on something the more that everything about that thing will come into our reality and grow.

So ask yourself, am I focused or divided?

Am I focused on many things?

Am I really getting what I want from those things?

Then dial in your focus and move forward.

“Try not to do too many things at once.
Know what you want, the number one thing today and tomorrow.
Persevere and get it done."

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 #34 #35 #36 #37 #38 #39 #40 #41 #42

Sort:  

Congratulations @michaeldavid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Michael David from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Up vote from the alliance

nice

Yes. Do few things well. Work smarter not harder!! Thanks for the reminder. I love me some synergy

Nice, perfect!

Full Steem ahead, bwahahahahahahaha! Good one man. The post pretty stellar too :)

Yea, i kinda had to lol

I like that, get it done right!

felicitaciones me gusto mucho y muy buena lectura gracias por tu post

Muchas Gracias Hombre!

Great post and a good read

I used to be somewhat divided when younger and was trying to focus on too much and not doing to well on any of them

But by my kid 20s I learnt to not take on to many challenges but just enough that I could put the required amount of effort needed for each one and that works for me

I know just what you mean man. I'm downsizing and consolidating daily.

I am focused . . . but on many things at the same time! I get bored just concentrating on one thing. I can hardly even watch a movie anymore. Ha!

I know what you mean. I do this sometimes also. Dialing in our focus to fewer things can be difficult.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52