Daily Inspiration #74 - Robert J. Mckain - First Things First

in #inspiration7 years ago

Daily Inspiration #74
Robert J. Mckain
First Things First
Daily-Inspirational-Motivational-Quotes-Inspiring-Encouraging-Quotes-#74.jpg

Robert J. “Bob” McCann (born 15 March 1958 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA) is an US-American and Irish citizen. He was formerly President Wealth Management Americas and President Americas of UBS Group AG. He had led the Wealth Management Americas division since December 2011 and had served as a member of the UBS Group AG Group Executive Board since October 2009. He relinquished both roles when he stepped down in November 2015.
Source

Robert J. McCann.jpg
Source

This guy had something to say that I wanted to share.

“The reason most goals are not achieved is that
we spend our time doing second things first.”

Alright, so we all have goals right?

Most goals are big enough that they include many steps to get there.

The order we should do these steps is sometimes obvious and sometimes not.

Sometimes it is very clear which thing we should do next.

Sometimes our vision of that is cloudy and it is not clear what to do next.

path unclear not clear.jpg
Source

Still other times we just think something seems like the right next step when it really was not.

The crazy thing is that when you are doing these things in the wrong order you can kinda feel it.

If you are working toward a goal and it seems to feel like something is off, take a step back.

Just stop for a second and look at it.

See what the goal is and see which of your smaller steps might be more important than the one you are working on.

It might surprise you.

Since we are creatures of habit and convenience, what we do is start with the easier steps or the steps that are closer to us.

creatures of habit.jpg
Source

This can make us feel pretty good for a minute because we seem to be getting a lot done.

The most effective thing though is to step back, assess the plan and decide if there are things that really need to come first.

If there are then doing them first will fast track your success.

Putting other steps in front of them not only slows the process but you could come back to a stack of missed opportunities.

stack missed opportunities.jpg
Source

A lot of times the things you think should be first will show differently once you play the whole thing out in your head.

You may find that many of the steps key into other steps making it so you can't really do much until you get a certain one done.

So whatever your goals take a step back, play the whole scenario out in your head, analyse the steps to determine which is really next.

Then do that step first (or next).

Understanding it is simple, doing it can be tough.

Just remember that it is your future you're creating, no one else's.

And remember what Robert had to say:

“The reason most goals are not achieved is that
we spend our time doing second things first.”

Thanks for reading,
Michael David
@michaeldavid

Other places you can find me:
Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Etsy

Previous posts in this series:
#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7 #8 #9 #10 #11 #12 #13 #14 #15 #16 #17 #18 #19 #20 #21 #22 #23 #24 #25 #26 #27 #28 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 #34 #35 #36 #37 #38 #39 #40 #41 #42 #43 #44 #45 #46 #47 #48 #49 #50 #51 #52 #53 #54 #55 #56 #57 #58 #59 #60 #61 #62 #63 #64 #65 #66 #67 #68 #69 #70 #71 #72 #73

Sort:  

You are making a good point there!

But my opinion is that as many golas we have, as many opportunities we loose. We don't have to be stubborn, we have to be open and relaxed. Maybe we nedd a litlle trust sometimes.

Stress is something we generate ourselves consciently, and we complain about it's effects..

Think about..is a goal really a goal or an excuse that the're something in "pending" and we still have something to worry about...

Enjoy @nature.art, hope I got you dizzy :))

That's precisely why it is vital to have a healthy obsession for what you are working toward.

So that it will always be fun!

Stepping back and reflect is the best thing one can do!
I do it often and learn a lot from it!
One might not always find the need to do it but I would say, do it! Because it can open your eyes in ways you did not think before.

You are so right!

Hey I heard your interview the other day. Nice! i now have a voice for you lol.

OOhhhhhhh Amazing that you heard it! :D
And I do believe I shall hear yoursss soon as well.
I look forwars to it! I think you can inspire a lot of people.

Actually, it will be Wednesday :)

I didn't really prepare so we will see lol

Great topic. I have a hard time understanding the steps I must take in order to achieve my end goal. I am a big picture thinker and when things get blurred bc I know where I wanna go just not how to get there, i absolutely take steps back and reevaluate and reasses. Prioritize and time management . Thanks. Love this post amd all the great comments

That's just right Queeny :) i am too and sometimes it can get overwhelming until we take that step back to see.

Yes. Deep breaths and power moves are sacred tools of mine that help me calm and center.

yes, i teach my son this when he is hurt or upset. In through the nose, out through the mouth. :)

priorities, priorities, priorities...

simplification, simplification, simplification

clarification, clarification, clarification

attainment, attainment, attainment

:) :) :)

I love it!

Super awesome response, you always have great ones jaynie!

hahaha thanks... was hoping I didn't confuse you and everyone else... lol :)

Definitely not. it was perfect :)

This post got me thinking about a project at work I was struggling with and I took the advice stepped back well stood up went to my whiteboard and noted down all the steps to get it done and sure enough I realized in my head plotting it out I had missed a couple of simple steps now less than 5 minutes later a couple of little things done and the step I wasn't sure how to deal with is now easily attainable

Thanks and have a good evening
Tip!

That is awesome man!!! Perfect!

I really love seeing that!

It was so funny how you happened to post this on a day I needed it, well not funny opportune for me

thanks again

i really love synchronicity like that!

Yes if your open to see it, it happens more than we expect

yes it does :)

So true so true

you know it :)

I really like this kind of postings.
I will always wait for something new from you

great post thank's for share it with us , I ve followed you thank's again !
https://steemit.com/photography/@lahcen80/famous-international-figures-on-the-school

Awesome stuff brother! Keep it up. Upvoted!

Talk soon.

Thanks a ton bro! Onward and upword!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84