Wild West - Chapter 2 - Part 18 - 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

man-and-horses-2389833_640.png
Courtesy of Pixabay


Chapter 1

If you wish to read the unedited freewrite versions of chapter 1, start reading by clicking here.

Chapter 2

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17

Part 18


They rode slowly and in silence for about fifteen minutes when Tom lit himself another cigarette.

“Toss me one too, will you?”

Tom threw the pack of cigarettes to James and he lit one up also.

Smoking and riding slowly, James looked over to his son and noticed his thumb fingernail was rather long.

“I see you play the guitar,” James broke the silence. “I do too. You play any other instruments?”

“The harmonica,” Tom was still somewhat annoyed.

“Should’ve guessed. Me too! I carry it with me at all times, and am pretty sure you do too. Want to play a piece together?”

“Sure.”

The two both reached into their inner pockets and pulled out their silver harmonicas.

“Something lively, what do you say?”

“You start and I’ll join,” by now, Tom’s face turned from a frown to a smile. They both loved to play the harmonica.

With a cigarette in one hand, James brought the instrument to his mouth and began playing a melody unknown to Tom. He kept on playing for some time until he finally realized Tom wasn’t joining in.

“Why don’t you start and I’ll join?” Tom asked and took a puff of the cigarette smoke.

Tom raised his harmonica and with the first blow got completely consumed by playing and the music and forgot all about the world around him. Shortly after, James followed suit and they rode together in musical harmony toward the rising sun.

Link to part 19


The prompt was:

"Fingernail"


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#38 - Abducted
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#36 - Unicorn meat
#39 - The Purple Road
#40 - Immortal Store Clerk
#41 - Artemis' Hell


#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip







#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma
#37 - Stuck in a loop















Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"Killer clowns"
Provided by @conradt

Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.

Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west.


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

It is funny when a person can go from annoyed to smiling just by doing something they enjoy. I wonder what melody they were playing.

Yeap! :D
humms the melody for you
;P

Music is something that the wild wild west often has. Cowboys loved singing and dancing!

Hmmm. I might just have to make them dance at some point. :p

Great job! And way to be the first to post your Freewrite today! Haha :)

Thanks! :D
I was surprised to be the first, usually people submit their entries already 15 minutes after @mariannewest gives the new prompt :p

Haha, true. Must just be that kind of day for people, slow start. For me its a lazy sunday, so maybe I'm not alone. Regardless it was a great way to start the prompt, so bravo! :)

Yeah, that could be it :P My sunday was quite lazy also :p
Thanks! :D So very happy to hear you've liked it! :D

Once in while, even a western story can have some lyrical moment. A melancholic harmonica melody is part of the romantic figure of the lone rider.

Also, I'm here to deliver the #freewrite Monday prompt, enjoy:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-130-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-wasps

Indeed it is! Very much so!
Thank you for the comment, and today's prompt! :D Will get on it shortly, jst want to finish some other stuff first :3

Nice writing. I have to take some time soon to read the whole and your other work. Thanks for sharing.
Resteemed.👌

Thank you very much! Both for the kind words and especially the resteem! <3
I hope you'll like Wild West in its entirety (so far). :D

You are most welcome and I allways love reading a good story. I will let you know as soon as I finish all parts up to now. And give you my honest opinion.

That... Would be amazing and very much appreciated!
I can't promise you much, but I'll gladly give you a 100% upvote for what that's worth. :p

Your appriciation is more then enough allready. The rest is bonus. 😉

Awwwwh :P
Here's 50 % in advance. You know, just because I'm a fair businessman. :P
Not to be mistaken with a good businessman. That I sadly am not.

Wow thanx man. But you really didn't have to. Although it does help me with my bandwith issues atm. So thanx again.😎

Thank you for spending your already low bandwidth to comment my posts :P
And not a problem at all ^^

I see some people who intentionally grow the fingernails on their thumb or pinkies. I wonder why. Nice playing the harmonica, I almost could hear the music.

... and as always, it got me wanting to read for more.

Longer fingernail on the thumb makes for easier hand-picking on the guitar... other than that, I have no idea. Especially about the pinky.

YES! Awesome! :D Exactly what I wanted >;D evil laughter

Methinks that pinky is for picking the nose? Oops, did I just say something that gross? LoL and another LoL for that "evil laughter"

Hahahahaha you have me laughing out loud! :D This comment is a masterpiece! hahahaha :D
checks pinky fingers on both hands... :P

Did you see something hidden along the fingernails of your pinkies? Lol. Just messing.

I'm not telling!
Cleans fingernails quickly before someone notices

They are actually so small it would be a miracle if anything got stuck in them.

LoL! Yeah, and I will not bother to check your fingers. So, you could stop the cleaning.

So you're telling me I cleaned my fingernails for nothing? That's just great. -.-

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Svashta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97