[Short story] - Pillow - 5 minute freewrite challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


"Pillow"


I was on my way to work, walking down the same boring street when I suddenly noticed somebody at the top of a building.

It wasn't a constructon worker, nor the chimney sweeper. Nor the window washer for that matter.

It was a person dressed in regular clothes – not working ones – just standing at the very edge of the roof with no harness to keep him safe.

I looked around and there was nobody there. I looked back up and it seemed as if he was building his courage to jump.

“Hey, step back from that ledge, will you!” I yelled to him.

My voice echoed through the street but I got no answer. My shouting alerted some of the residents and they were fast to open their windows and yell back at me for disturbing their sleep that early in the morning. It was 6.50 am after all. I responded by pointing at the man on the roof. Seeing as he didn’t respond to their shouting either, I called 911.

We tried our best to talk him out of it but he just stood there, staring downward, as if dazed.

The firefighters arrived shortly and inflated one of those humongous pillows on the floor in a matter of seconds.

He decided to jump.

Fortunately, the pillow was there to save his life.

Ding. Time is up.


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#29 - Green Chewing Gum

Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

There are currently no pending writing prompts for me to fulfill.
Leave your idea in the comments below and have it turned into a story!


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

just swimming by to drop off an up vote for @svashta thank you for using @echowhale

Send 0.20 - 1.00 sbd/steem to @echowhale and receive an up vote of greater greater value. For a limited time send 1.00 or more of steem/sbd to @echowhale and you'll receive a power up vote which consist of @echowhale and his team all swimming by and dropping off an up vote.

The pillow totally ruined his plan. It's drama at the end.

Or maybe it was his plan all along to have them inflate that baloony pillow so he could jump on it? I mean... Free entertainment :p

Yeah :D but probably not free at the end, well depends how good actor he was, then.

HAH! Acting depressed? How hard can it be?

Curls into a ball and cries like a baby

You'll have to wait your turn, sir.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I am glad that the pillow was there...Not so much for him - that too - but for everyone else. They were spared to deal with the shock, the cleanup -all of that.....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-69-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-grounding

The cleanup. ugh. Now I've go that image in my head. <.< Thanks.

You are welcome or I am sorry - Your pick lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97