[Short Story] - Car mechanic - 5 minute freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


A car mechanic


I got under an old car, the repair of which I've been postponing for as long as I could've. It was in my shop for 3 weeks total, and because I had no other cars to repair at the moment, I had no excuse but to pull my sleeves up and go to work.

It was an old Kaschenka model, one of the earliest Russian cars. The transmission was so hard to handle one could hardly even call it manual, and the steering wheel was so hard to move you damn sure needed all the vodka shots you had drunk.

Surprisingly enough, the car wasn't rusty much. Less than most newer ones, actually.

I never handled such a car before so I started off slow and decided to dismantle just about everything I could. I was interested in how it all works.

I began unscrewing the parts one by one, slowly placing them on the floor. I pulled on the transmission and tried removing it, but apparently forgot to unscrew one of the screws holding it in place. I forced it off, but in going so, shattered a pipe right above me.

I wasn't wearing any safety glasses – as per usual, of course – and when green liquid came oozing out of the broken pipe some dripped directly into my eye.

It burned like hell, I couldn't even open the other eye of mine and thanks to these touch-screen phones, I couldn't even blindly type in 911.

Ding. Time is up.


The prompt was:

"Green droplets"


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D



I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#29 - Green Chewing Gum

Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

There are currently no pending writing prompts for me to fulfill.
Leave your idea in the comments below and have it turned into a story!


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

Arghh - in the eyes :(
Happy New Year!! I saw that you already did the next prompt :)

Yepp! As soon as I see you post a new one, I get right on it :D

Great!!! So glad that you are writing with us!

Happy year to you all ...2018

Happy new year to you also! ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88