[Short Story] - Ducks - 5minute freewrite challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Ducks


I had been collecting leftover bread for quite a while now and have filled three medium paper bags completely full. I wanted to take my children to the lake and feed the ducks with them. The way my parents and I used to do when I was little.

There was something so special about carelessly throwing rock hard crumbs and watch the animals approach you. Slow and hesitant at first, then with a loud “GAG” a few moments later.

It was a sunny Saturday afternoon that day and we decided to pay a visit to our local lake.

We ducked near the edge of the lake, each with a bag full of dry bread and watched as a team of ducks began approaching us.

I had forgotten my glasses at home that day, so I kept asking Timmy how far away the ducks were and what they looked like.

“Are they brown?”

“No,” answered Timmy.

“That’s strange. Are you sure?”

“Yes. They’re almost here, can’t you see?”

Moments later a group of swans came out of the water, running straight toward us with their beaks high in the air, ready for attack.

We all dropped our bags and went running. Fortunately no one got hurt.

We still laugh about it to this day.

Ding. Time is up.


The prompt was:

"Ducks"


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma

Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks.

Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"An argument between a blind and a deaf man"
provided by: @hrovat66


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

This vote is on behalf of @echowhale team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Svashta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome, unexpected story! I could feel the confusion, and I could relate, except if I forgot my glasses, I'm not sure I'd have known to run at all because I'm really blind!

You would've known to run, alright. You just wouldn't know what you slammed face-first into. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76