[Short Story] - Dog Hair - 5 minute freewrite challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Dog hair


I was going on a date today, so, naturally, I decided to wear the most beautiful dress I own. I had washed it two days prior and allowed it to air-dry on a hanger on the balcony. All it needed now was the final magic touch with an iron to take out the littlest of wrinkles.

I fetched the dress and laid it on the ironing board.

“Seriously?” I exclaimed as I stretched it over the board.

The dress was covered in my golden retriever’s hair and since it was black, there was absolutely no way to hide it.

I tried handpicking the hair off but quickly realized I couldn’t finish in time. My date was to pick me up in 15 minutes. I finally decided to just leave them on and I put on the dress.

The date went fantastic, but back at his place he noticed the hair and asked me if I owned a dog.

“Not anymore. It’s been a year since she passed away. Dog hair just gets everywhere,” I replied.


The prompt was:

"Dog hair"


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma

Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair.

Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"An argument between a blind and a deaf man"
provided by: @hrovat66


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

You have earned an additional vote from the @echowhale team

freedom should be enjoyed this way.. #awesome @svashta

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Standing in for Marianne......Sweet story.
Here's the link to today's prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-76-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-ducks

what happened to you? How did you get that downvote? This is getting really bad.......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14