[Short Story] #24 - Rebellious talking food

in #writing6 years ago

The writing prompt was:

"Rebellious talking food"

Provided by @petermarie


writing-prompt-fulfilled.png

Image provided by @rocking-dave


It was a Saturday morning just like any other, with Daniel amid the market place, picking out the various fruits and vegetables for the upcoming week.

But for some reason, this morning seemed different than the rest of them. Something felt off, but he just couldn't put a finger on it.

When he approached one of the stands, he could've sworn he heard an eggplant speak. He flickered with fright but somehow managed to downplay his emotions. He couldn't have explained why he was afraid of the eggplant, so he made sure nobody saw him twitch.

The market place was nevertheless very loud. People chatting about work, their weekend plans and the everyday whining of elder and younger generations alike. Daniel just wrote the situation off as overhearing a conversation and went on with his usual routine. He always bought fruit from one specific vendor and the vegetables from another.

"May I interest you in some cabbage, young man?" Said a pleasant female voice.

"Thank you, but no," Daniel looked at the lady behind the stand, smiled, and declined the kind offer.

The lady behind the stand, however, looked at him completely puzzled.

It was as if he she didn't know why he spoke to her. As if she never said a single word to him.

Daniel couldn't understand what was going on either and quickly escaped the unpleasant situation before it got any weirder.

When Daniel finally arrived to Albert's stand, he managed to somehow calm down and forget the events just moments ago.

"The usual, Daniel?" Albert asked him. Daniel was a regular customer who bought the same vegetables every week. A head of cabbage, 2 red peppers, onions and some potatoes.

"Yes, please, but double the amount. I have my son coming over this week."

"Sure thing, Daniel. I'll give you an extra pound of carrots, how does that sound? I remember you told me your son likes them."

"You remembered and I forgot! Thank you!"

"What?" Albert raised his head and looked at Daniel.

"The carrots. I forgot about the carrots and you reminded me of them."

"What are you talking about, Daniel?"

Daniel couldn't tell what was going on. Nothing made sense. He was certain Albert had mentioned carrots.

"Oh, it's nothing. I'm sorry, I must've woken up on the wrong foot today. Can you give me a pound of carrots along with everything else?"

"Are you sure about that?" The voice sounded exactly like Alberts, but it seemed as if though it didn't originate from Albert's mouth.

"Of course I'm sure. Why else would I say it?" Daniel got visibly irritated.

"Beats me, mate. Perhaps you're a little sissy girl, who knows?" Again, a voice identical to Albert's originated from the stand rather than from Albert himself.

"What did you call me!?! Are you out of your mind!?" Daniel yelled at Albert, who was casually picking out the finer vegetables, the way he always did for returning customers.

"Daniel, listen. I know you're having a bad day, but don't take it out on me. I'm here to sell you the vegetables, not to serve as your psychotherapist. So do you want the carrots or not?"

"For the third time, Albert, yes! Are you deaf or something?"

"Alright, that's enough. I want you to leave. Find someone else to abuse," said Albert and started taking the vegetables back out from the paper bags and placing them back on their designated spots on the stand.

"Are you #$@&! kidding me!? A man can't even buy veggies in peace anymore or what? #$&@!!" Daniel cursed and stormed off toward his car.

He threw the bag of fruit on the back seats and drove to pick up his son from school. Singing along the radio calmed him down and when he arrived at the parking lot, he was back to his normal self.

He hugged his son Timmy, asked him of his day and they talked about the math homework the teacher had given him.

"Did you get the carrots I asked you for?"

Daniel could feel his blood begin to boil again as he remembered the incident back at the market place but managed to keep his cool for the sake of his son and faked having forgotten about it.

"Shoot! I completely forgot about it! I'm so so sorry. I'll get them later, okay?"

"Dad, what are you talking about?" Said Timmy, worried about his father who was apparently talking to himself.

"The carrots, Timmy. The #$&@! carrots! You don't have to rub it in, you know. I know damn well I didn't get the #$&@! carrots!" Daniel exploded with anger.

Timmy had never seen his father act this way before. He was afraid and he squeezed himself toward the car door as much as he could.

"But you did forget the carrots, dad. Is that how you treat your son?" Said Timmy's voice, but from the backseat.

"Oh no you didn't! You did not just say that!" Daniel kept yelling at his son. Timmy didn’t say a word and just squeezed himself tighter into the corner of the seat.

Daniel stopped the car at the nearest bus station and pointed out the door.

"Get out. Go to your mother’s or something. How dare you speak to me like that?" Daniel's eyes turned red with anger and he would certainly have hit Timmy if he wasn't out the door already before he finished the last sentence.

Daniel hit the gas and hardly even allowed enough time for Timmy to properly close the door.

"I hope you're happy with yourself now, Daniel."

Appaled, Daniel lost focus and consequentially the control of his car.

Just before he hit the upcoming truck, when seconds turned to minutes and his life came flashing before his eyes, the voice spoke again and laughed.

"You shouldn't have forgotten to take your schizophrenia pills, Daniel."

It was the voice of his ex-wife, coming from the apple in the backseat.


The end


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

In case you enjoy writing, I am hosting a writing contest myself where I don't give you a writing prompt, but instead I give you different challenges that hinder your writing.
Check it out by clicking here.


Svashta_gif.gif

Gif provided by no other than the awesome @rocking-dave


Previous writing prompts fulfilled:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18


Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"I would love it see a story of two lovers who are separated by distance. In the story, I would love you to use distance as a human."

Provided by: @fona

Sort:  

Yay! My first ever writing prompt fulfilled!

Nice one, Svashta! The story was hilarious! I was bursting with laughter from the beginning to the end! Poor chap though... but I should've known you'd find a way to put some tragedy into it. 😆😆

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed it! :D

Oh but of couse ;) Can't have no happy endings, no sir, not on my blog. ;P

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 5900 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 10.0% @pula78 upgoat, thanks to @svashta
It consists of $1.76 vote and $0.04 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @svashta to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

amigo @resteemia at your service


excellent story & nice writing @svashta

@resteemia

Good one! You have it :)

Thanks! I'm glad you like it! :D

This Kickass post has received a bellyrub 2.81 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here, So he can continue to operate @bellyrub! Also Want to earn 45% APR on your SBD or steem, Deposit 20 or more into the @bellyrubbank and be placed on @bellyrubbank's steemvoter rather than it collecting dust.

This post has received a 11.11 % upvote from @upmyvote thanks to: @svashta. Send at least 1 SBD to @upmyvote with a post link in the memo field to promote a post! Sorry, we can't upvote comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77