[Short Story] - Wild West - Part 4 - 5 minute freewrite challenge

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Link to part 1
Link to part 2
Link to part 3

Wild west - part 4


It appeared as if he was riding into nothingness. But roughly 5 miles later, there it was.

A patch of cultivated land. A field of corn, dancing softly in the light summer breeze.

Tom kicked Magnum between the ribs and galloped his way to the property.

Hidden amidst the corn and crop fields was a small cottage, made entirely out of wood, with the roof forming a distinct upside down V-shape.

Outside, a man, dressed in all black, his hand ready to draw the gun from its holster. He had known someone was coming.

Tom pulled on the reins and Magnum came to a stop, no further than 30 feet from the cowboy, then lifted himself on his hind legs and let out a mighty neigh.

“Get off my property!” Shouted James, his fingers hovering over his revolver.

“Father,” said Tom as calm as a millpond, nodding downward at James in a greeting manner.

James squinted his eyes to try and make sense of the silhouette against the sun.

"Tom?"

Link to part 5


The prompt was:

"Corn"


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#38 - Abducted
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#36 - Unicorn meat







#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip







#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma
#37 - Stuck in a loop















Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better?
Learn how to do it here.

Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west.

Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"Purple road"
Provided by @bhop42moro


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Sort:  

At last, they meet eye to eye!

I am waiting for chapter 6, I like this part very much :)

chapter 6 comin' out tomorrow :D

Wow. I like the huge variety of your writing prompts.

I'm glad you do! :D Hopefully you can find something that fits your style :D

I was in it! So you have used other prompts to create more chapters??

Yepp!
And will use today's to write part 5 :P

With few words you created a scene plenty of feeling. I have to read the previous episodes indeed..

Yesterday a group of ancient bananafish appeared to me in a dream. They gave me a mission: to mariannewestize myself and bring the freewrites' gospel to the world!

Single prompt option

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-01-13-2018-single-prompt-option

3 prompt option
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-jan-13-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

Thanks! :D

ancient bananafish

Are these edible? If yes, how much for a pound?

Would you eat a unicorn? Blasphemious!

I would. Then use its horn as a toothpick.

Svashta, you're worse than Voldemort 😂

I see you are not afraid of He who shall not be named.
A ballsy move on your part. But then again, you are replying to my comments, which is perhaps even more an act of bravery.
I would tread lightly from this day on if I were you.

Svashta, in case you wonder why Voldy doesn't have a nose, you should be aware that I chopped it off from his gracious face with my own teeth. My beloved bananafish appreciated it, when I fed them spreading the small nuggets on their pound. We'll see who will tread lightly. (I'll comment your posts more often ..lol!)

I'll admit, I would've eaten the nose myself. Quite a delicacy.
As for your bananafish, did they get that name because of their shape, or their taste?

Hopefully, his fingers stopped hovering once he realized that it was Tom....

Or perhaps began to hover more wildly? ;)

Oh yes! Hovering wildly like a drone with a short circuit would be interesting!

In a snowstorm.

While transporting a jellyfish.

a many jellyfish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65