Constrained Writing Contest #13 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #12

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of being given an idea or a writing prompt, you are allowed to choose the topic completely by yourself. But, varying from week to week, You will face different challenges that limit your writing.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all.


Winners of constrained writing contest #12

This week we had an external judge judge joining us. Let's hear it for your favorite Sim player and fiction writer, the beast of a DJ, the one and only @simgirl!

Here's what she had to say about this week's winners and other entries!
I'll admit, this is a copy-pasta of her response.


In words of @simgirl herself:

Judge’s overall note: I would like to thank all the writers for entering the constrained writing contest this week. I am still honored that I could read and critique the entries. Each of them was well written, and you all used the writing constraint of “little did __ know” very creatively.

For help with your writing, there are many places on Steemit to turn to. If you have not joined any Discord group yet, I would suggest that all members of Steemit do it. Once on discord, I would recommend the Minnow Support Project, and the Writer’s Block. Both groups have workshops available with highly skilled writers and editors, who can help writers with English, and with the elements of a story or a post.

The outline I follow when writing a fiction short story, is to create a character, reveal a problem, or dilemma, develop the character, and by the end, resolve the problem, or dilemma. Of course, if I can think of a surprise ending, then that is a bonus.

The best advice I’ve ever heard was, “put your character up in a tree (in a predicament), and then throw apples at them. (more problems)” If your character doesn’t have any struggles, then there is not much to the story. The more your character overcomes in the story, the more the reader will care about the ending. It is your job as the writer to be sure your characters have the resources needed to solve their problem(s)… all in less than 2,000 words.

The winner of this week’s Constrained Writing Contest are:

Judge’s note: I liked this story because it starts right as the action starts. We learn about the characters by how they act, and respond to the others. There is a great bit of build-up which made me wonder what was going to happen down in those mines.
The writing constraint was used well to let us know something bad was going to happen once they got there. A flashback of another character reveals the danger, and the surprise ending was the perfect way to end the tale.
Hats off to @felt.buzz for the amazing late minute entry.
Little did I know we would have such a spooky story to read this week, but at the last minute, felt.buzz delivered.

Judge’s note: I really liked this entry because we see the character, understand how she feels, and watch as she develops during the scene. I also like that @theprintuplist used such vivid imagery with her writing. She used all the senses, so we knew exactly what the character was feeling. Especially about the wasted grapes, which I must agree with the others, was an awesome line in the story. The twist ending did it for me! Bonus.
Just when I thought I knew it was going to end… BAM! That was great. Thanks to @theprintuplist for the awesome entry, and for winning the prize! Little did I know how good this story would be when I clicked on the link, but I am glad I did!

*P.s. The writing constraint was also used very well in this story.

Judge’s note: This story gradually builds up, as we begin to understand why the characters are where they are, and the reasons they were incarcerated. The little did she know writing constraint was used at the end as a twist ending, so that was a bonus!
I would suggest @forgingquietude to visit the writing groups on discord who focus on helping new writers develop their writing voice. The story itself is wonderful, but the scene is being described, instead of told. We need to see the scene develop, rather than know all the facts. Reading the story out loud is always helpful.
Little did I know that I would read such a dramatic story in this contest, but @forgingquietude rose to the occasion with a thriller of an entry, and I am glad I was on Steemit to read it!

Congratulations to the winners!

Honorable mentions in no particular order:


@svashta’s note: We had 6 amazing entries this week, I enjoyed reading each and every one of them! I will be honest; I’m happy I wasn’t judging this week because I would have a really hard time picking the winners. Thank you very much, to all of you who participated, and those who just stopped by to read the entries and dropped some upvotes!

Let’s talk rewards


In light of recent events, more on which you can find in the Constrained Writing Contest #12 – Promotion Post, I am required to postpone the payout of the rewards until Wednesday. The rewards will follow the same redistribution model as described below.

I thank you for your understanding, and apologize for the inconvenience.<3


With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #13!


Rules:

This week we have @foragingquietude joining us as the judge for the Constrained Writing Contest #13. She is responsible for all the rules; and for picking the winners. And she’s come up with some serious constraints! Here are the rules for this week;

  • Write a story with at least 1 speaking animal
  • The story must not be set in a zoo, pet store or an aquarium
  • Each animal’s vocabulary consists of only 20 unique words. They cannot learn words anew, but they can use words with different meanings to count as 1 word (example: squash, can be used as “a squash” – a vegetable, or “to squash” – a verb meaning to crush) and they can form plurals and past tenses of words. They can, for example say “use, using, used” and it only counts as 1 unique word
  • The story must be at least 250 words long

Example story by @foragingquietude can be found here.
Example story by @svashta can be found here.

The remainder or the rules:

  • Upvote this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags
  • Should you wish to help raise awareness of the contest, please consider resteeming this post (it is by no means compulsory)

Prizes

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*Note: In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.


Judges

This week we have @foragingqueitude joining us as a judge. She will pick a winner based on her own preference and try to be as objective and constructive as possible.

What's that I hear? You wish to be a judge too? Well look no further!
To apply for a judge and make up your own rules, simply send @svashta a hearty hello on steemit.chat.

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

I'm so glad I happened upon this contest!

Here is my entry--I had a lot of fun writing and it was nice to have a reason to produce something new: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jessicakluthe/tweet-constrained-writing-contest-13

We are happy you found it too! Great entry!

Wow! Those are some crazy constraints...! Trying to wrap my brain around this. I keep being reminded of Watership Down. Although, I believe they had a much larger vocabulary. Haven't read it in years & years though.

It's not an easy task, but depending on how far you wish to take it.. it can be both fun and rewarding. Mostly rewarding :p it might get frustrating at times also haha

Your challenge was added to Steemit Contest Compilation (08.01-14.01): Win free SBD and STEEM for current week.

Thank you @svashta for giving Steemians (especially minnows) a chance to get free SBD and STEEM.

Thank you very much! :D

WOW! Just so WOW! Its an honor to first hear the feedback. I really am enjoying finding my lil niche on Steemit and things like this have been very welcoming. Not to mention winning is an extra bonus! Very humbled and very honored. Thank you @simgirl for judging and loving my surprise ending.
CHEERS TO ALL and the WINNERS.
YEAY!

You are welcome, You had me at the wasted grapes!!! Can't wait to hear your next creation!!! We have a discord of writers if you would like to join us there.

https://discord.gg/jJRRaKd

Congratz! You've definitely earned it! :D
I really, really hope you will participate again this week! :D

Congratulations on winning contest #12! I'm off to read your story!

Thanks for the opportunity to judge! Congrats to all the winners from week 12!

Those are some serious constraints you've come up with. Hard, but fun! :D
Let's see what the writers come up with! :D

I need a better way to find these posts!!!! I didn't see it until now! Yay great writing constraint @forgingquietude. Can't wait to try it.

Well, you just need to visit my profile more often ;) hahaha :D

And I can't wait to read your entry! :D

Fun! I’ll see if I have time time to write something... I have an animal in mind already...

I hope you find some! :D And with that cliffhanger, you can't leave us hangin'! :P

I got a cute one for you! Thanks for the writing constraint @foragingqueitude it was very fun to write!

https://steemit.com/constrainedwriting/@simgirl/constrained-writing-contest-13-shimmer-s-morning

No problem! Glad you enjoyed it!

Here is my entry. Feels strange writing after so long. I will have to do more of it!

https://steemit.com/writing/@veganrabbit/my-entry-into-the-constrained-writing-competition

Here is my story. I enjoyed writing it, I hope you'll enjoy reading it.
https://steemit.com/writing/@spalatino/decision-constrained-writing-contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60740.76
ETH 3388.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52