Helpless - Short fiction written in 5 minutes

in #freewrite6 years ago

5minfreewritesvashta.jpg


Helpless


Like all ordinary siblings, my younger brother and I were in each other's hair all the time.

What wasn't ordinary, however, is that he knew exactly how to overpower me in a way that didn't get him in trouble with our parents. Whereas my only weapon was to smack him and get in trouble, he had found a loop hole he made sure he exploited to oblivion.

One time we were arguing over who gets to watch the television, because he wanted to watch Mr. Bean, and I wanted to watch CSI. Like always, we started a quarrel, but instead of slapping him I decided to call our mum and let her decide. He, after all, had been watching Mr. Bean for a straight hour now, and I firmly believed it was my turn with the TV.

Before I could call her name, though, he started tickling me. Unable to fight back or cry for help, I dropped on my back laughing out loud and got teary-eyed in a matter of seconds.

With his devilish smile he made me promise not to call mum, and to let him watch the TV for an hour more. Hopeless to fight back, I gave in and nodded furiously to have him stop as fast as possible.

Being tickled isn’t at all cute, which is how my mom had always seen it. It’s downright torture.


The prompt was:

"Helpless"


Short stories I have written so far:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#38 - Abducted
#42 - Killer clowns
#43 - A penny
#44 - Fear
#49 - Morning coffee
#50 - Midnight sunshine
#51 - My new home
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#36 - Unicorn meat
#39 - The Purple Road
#40 - Immortal Store Clerk
#41 - Artemis' Hell
#46 - A scientist's journal
#47 - One of many
#48 - Gone in 10




#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#45 - Crafted armor












#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma
#37 - Stuck in a loop





















Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.


Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled so far:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west.


Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Sort:  

Ha, this sounds exactly like my younger brother! :D To be fair, I would've gone with Mr Bean too! :)

Judging by the comments it would indeed appear we all share a similar experience haha :D A very relatable freewrite indeed haha :D

Same! Mr. Bean all the way! :D

Tickles are and awful torture! I remember my uncle used to do this to us, and he would tell us if we whistled he would stop.... try to whistle laughing. Horrible LOL.

Oh my, that's horrifying! :O
It's a nightmare come true :O

Brothers are evil. I'm not sure which was worse, the tickling or the Indian burns he gave us, till we said Uncle.

They sure are! Mine is older than me (5 years), but instead of tickling we gave each other a lot of bruises.

Hahahah Good old days!

"Good"... Hheh. :P

Being tickled is awful!! I remember being a victim to that as well and how bad it felt.

Same here.
I believe this story was based a little too much on my real life experience. haha :D

Tickles are great fun!! Not so much when you're on the receiving end mind you. But the uncontrollable laughter is a great tonic!! Laugh your worries away!

Laughs histerically while dying inside all the same
Well, doc, t'was worth a shot, but I don't quite think it worked. :p

Ha ha ha, I'm more chief tickler now, than ticklee, so I likely forget the trauma of being the ticklee!! :o)

You fiend!
Tell me who I must bribe that lives close to you! I want you to suffer be tickled!

I never realized how common the tickling tactic was in sibling spats. I always ended up with an asthma attack after my brother's tickle torture.
Perhaps today's prompt will inspire something dreamy.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-292-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-overslept

Ugh. As if tickling alone wasn't bad enough. :(

Since I can't find time to do this next one on time, but like the prompt, I might turn it into a full out story when I get the time. Thanks for the delivery! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81