[Short Story] Multiple personality disorder - An internal struggle

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

The following story is inspired by this week's constraint of my Constrained Writing Contest, which requires you to write a story for the perspective of a person with a multiple-personality disorder and tell us about one (or many) of their internal struggles.

I hope you will like the following story and will consider giving the Constrained Writing Contest a shot yourself.

face-1370955_640.jpg
Image by Pixabay


“No, not broccoli. George doesn’t like broccoli. I know we don’t know if he’s coming today, but he might. Let’s opt for carrots instead. I think we all like those.” I reached for the carrots and about halfway Mary stopped me.

“But carrots don’t go well with beef, Paul. Why not just make beef goulasch? We only need potatoes, we’ve got everything else back home.” I took a step back and held my hand close to my chin, thinking.

“No. I wanted steaks and it’s my turn to pick what to eat.” I was somewhat irritated. I never questioned their decision when it was their turn to decide what we’re having for lunch. Not once. “I’m open to suggestions about the sides, but I want steaks. Fries, maybe?”

“Fries? Oh, no, no, no. We need to lose weight, remember? Fried foods are a no go. I think we agreed about that.” Mary was right, we have agreed to a diet about a week ago. I didn’t want to apologize for having suggested it, so I just suggested something else instead.

“How about rice on the side and a big green salad with cherry tomatoes?” I just wanted to get it over with and settle with something, so I tried to appeal to her – I knew she loved cherry tomatoes.

“Cherry tomatoes?” I was very happy she took the bait. “I’m sold on the salad, but the rice is bland if there’s no sauce. Maybe if we at least get some peas to go with? That would be good.”

“Sure, whatever.” I would’ve agreed to just about everything at that point.

“Peas? Are you out of your fucking minds? No way we’re having peas!” George suddenly showed up, and with the sudden shouting many of the other customers gave us a strange look. He was like that. He came in a flash and vanished just as fast. But George wasn’t like me or Mary. No. George wasn’t the type of person to compromise. He wasn’t even the person to be able to coexist with us. When he showed up we got retracted deep into the subconsciousness without retaliation for as long as he was in charge. Mary and I only got to watch what he did with our body from the first row, and so had to watch as he put frozen fries into the shopping cart, and of course forget the salad. George was like that. He had to win every argument, even if just for the sake of winning it.


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


constrained writing contest.jpg

If you enjoy writing yourself, I am hosting a constrained writing contest, where each week I limit your writing with various rules and force you to be creative in brand new ways! If you're not a writer yourself, check it out and see what others have come up with! :D


I turn your writing prompts into stories.

Previous writing prompts I have fulfilled:

Brutal
Funny/Misc
Happy ending
Gross
#1 - Living off the grid
#3 - A young thief
#8 - A traitor from hell
#9 - Not alone
#10 - Millitary testing grounds
#13 - Bigfoot
#14 - And angel in love with a whore
#15 - Down the rabbit hole
#18 - Reborn as a 10 year old
#19 - A struggling door to door salesman
#24 - Rebellious talking food
#26 - Ssssnails!
#28 - Mission Erased
#32 - Dog's breath
#38 - Abducted
#42 - Killer clowns
#43 - A penny
#44 - Fear
#2 - A dolphin tea party
#4 - Stained hands
#7 - The giant depressed onion
#21 - The red star
#25 - Long-distance Relationship
#27 - A dream
#30 - Potato
#31 - Dragons
#33 - The Jungle
#35 - A life lesson
#36 - Unicorn meat
#39 - The Purple Road
#40 - Immortal Store Clerk
#41 - Artemis' Hell





#5 - The homeless man
#6 - A blind date
#11 - The wealthy man
#12 - Happy ending
#16 - Asshole soulmate
#17 - My bunny Fluffy
#20 - War veteran
#22 - Wishing to meet a villain
#23 - School trip
#45 - Crafted armor









#29 - Green Chewing Gum
#34 - Turkey Trauma
#37 - Stuck in a loop


















Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

There are currently no writing prompt for me to fulfill.
Post your idea in the comments below to have it turned into a story!

Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.

Five minute freewrite challenges I have fulfilled:

Fire, Toilet, Flash, Soft feet, Pillow, Grounding, Surprise, Ending the pain, Going for a walk, Car Mechanic, Murderer, Dog hair, Ducks, Untested medicine, Forbidden love, Vacation, Awakening, Dentist, Wild west.


Svashta_gif.gif
Gif by @rocking-dave

Should you find this post after the 7 day period and wish to throw me an upvote, please consider upvoting a newer post of mine. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35