Open Mic Night Contest Wk 33 Entry: Haven Part 4 (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Headphones are recommended, press play and scroll down to read the lyrics, or watch the video and enjoy the performance.

Full Song Lyrics and Due Credits provided below.


Song's Due Credits


Beat Produced by J Dilla


Chorus Written, Created & Performed by Verbal D


Verses 1, 2, & 3 Written, Created & Performed by Verbal D


Full Song Lyrics


Verbal D
Chorus:
There’s a place where I can go
Where water always flows
And the food is never cold
Love is plentiful

Climb the tops of every cloud
Place that never crowds
Don’t know of my whereabouts
Can’t find it, word of mouth, give it up

Verbal D
Verse 1:
People, they want to know where I have been
Yeah, So this what I tell em-
Use your imagination, your Cerebellum

Keep it under my tongue
Just below my frenulum
A place that gives me peace
With nobody who is nettlesome

Nothing but time
So my tempo be the pendulum
It’s hard on the ears
Like the beat of a metal drum

Keeps me out of trouble
But my rhymes still meddlesome
Giving out my love,
Through the music I will send you some

‘Cause I’m in a secret location
I’m in between the lines of this music notation

Sink into my thoughts, leave behind the flotation
It’s got me in a spin, whirlpool in rotation
If you ever saw this place, any home it could replace
Creator of this land needs a standing ovation

Verbal D
Chorus:
There’s a place where I could go
Water always flows
And the food is never cold
Love is plentiful
Climb the tops of every cloud
A place that never crowds
Don’t know of my whereabouts
Can’t find it, word of mouth, so give it up

Verbal D
Verse 2:
I found a new spot,
‘Cause I was feeling out of place,
This love has made me blind
So I’m feeling out her face

When she’s gone, I am gone
Like I’ve been in outer space
It’s Very dusty on the moon
It’s gotta glitter, powder base

Go at any speed
It’s always been about her pace
Working sweet rhythms
Never give her sour face

She’s strong and fearless
Never gives a coward chase
She always lifts me up
‘Cause she’s in a power state

Her pics are…
More animated than Pixar
I love you, Miss Music
Let me pick up this guitar

This feeling is bizarre
‘Cause I am into ya
Like I’m in India
I pick up this sitar

Never take me out your life
Don’t wanna get disbarred
I see us in the future
So I wanna get this far

Only moving forward
You can catch me a Windstar
We’re blowing in the breeze
Silky smoke of a cigar
So feel it!

Verbal D
Chorus:
There’s a place where I could go
Where water always flows
And the food is never cold
Love is plentiful
Climb the tops of every cloud
A place that never crowds
Don’t know of my whereabouts
Can’t find it, word of mouth

Verbal D
Verse 3:
This place that I speak about
Ain’t something you read about
Finding it is difficult
Trust me, you gon’ need a route

Honor my word
Most definitely gonna need a scout
It’s invitation only
So the people gonna scream and shout

Yeah the truth hurts,
Doesn’t mean you gotta bleed it out
Cracks on the sidewalks
Eventually a weed’ll sprout

But we’re devout,
Me and Miss Music are
Bringing freshwater flows
So drift, row and eat a trout

Swimming through the currents
of this sapphire
Love be burning up like rubber ends of a black tire
We stay connected through them audio black wires,
‘Cause misery’s a joke and we laugh at this satire

It’s here I can escape,
Where Eve and Adam ate
If this is heaven, I’ll be here to man the gates.

Shout out to my roots in the Bay like Mandalay
This is true happiness, it’s here I plan to stay, stay, stay

Verbal D
Chorus:
There’s a place where I could go
Where water always flows
And the food is never cold
Love is plentiful
Climb the tops of every cloud
A place that never crowds
Don’t know of my whereabouts
Can’t find it, word of mouth

People, they want to know where I have been
Yeah

Song Lyrics Copyrighted by Verbal D


If you missed my other previous Melodious Music Memoirs, including Open Mic Contest Wk Entries, Please click on the provided links below:

Melodious Music Memoirs # 1: Change The World
Melodious Music Memoirs # 2: Impact
Melodious Music Memoirs # 3: My Mother
THE STEEMIT SONG
Melodious Music Memoirs # 4: Statements


Melodious Music Memoirs # 5: Love, Passion, Passion, Love
Melodious Music Memoirs # 6: Nothing But Bliss - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 2 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 7: The Bitcoin Song - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 3 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 8: Vacay - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 4 Entry
Open Mic Night Wk 5 Entry: Grim Is Out Stretching Death Fields


Melodious Music Memoirs # 9: When Darkness Falls
Open Mic Night Wk 6 Entry: Amnesia
Open Mic Night Wk 7 Entry: Last Day
Open Mic Night Wk 8 Entry: Spaceman Jones
Open Mic Night Wk 9 Entry: Somehow


Melodious Music Memoirs # 10: Structural Adaptation Acoustic and Oriental Versions
Melodious Music Memoirs # 11: All Dogs Go To Heaven - R.I.P. Bear
Melodious Music Memoirs # 12: Epic Arena
Melodious Music Memoirs # 13: Fast Lane
Open Mic Night Wk 10 Entry: End Of My Season


Melodious Music Memoirs # 14: Industrial Flames All Fired Up
Open Mic Night Wk 11 Entry: Get With The BlockChain
Melodious Music Memoirs # 15: Shattered Rainbows, Broken Skies
Melodious Music Memoirs # 16: Whip
THE BIGFOOT SONG


Melodious Music Memoirs # 17: Romance & Bliss
Open Mic Night Wk 12 Entry: Crime Lord
Melodious Music Memoirs # 18: Do You See What Chia Seeds?
Open Mic Night Wk 13 Entry: Dad, I Believe That's Love
Open Mic Night Wk 14 Entry: Barz


Melodious Music Memoirs # 19: Recuperation, Rejuvenation
Melodious Music Memoirs # 20: Wisdom Of The Ancients
Open Mic Night Wk 15 Entry: M.A.S.H. Theme
Open Mic Night Wk 16 Entry: Lass Gehn, Let's Go!
Melodious Music Memoirs # 21: It's Hard To Trust But To Love… I Must


Open Mic Night Wk 17 Entry: What Could Go Wrong?
Melodious Music Memoirs # 22: Summer Gladness
Melodious Music Memoirs # 23: The Marvellous Matriarch
Melodious Music Memoirs # 24: The Cool Cats On Steemit
@Soundlegion's SuperNova Steemit Producer Challenge Entry


Open Mic Night Wk # 18 Entry: Your Dreams
Open Mic Night Wk 19 Entry: The Flute Of Fools
Melodious Music Memoirs # 25: On The Ball
Open Mic Night Wk 20 Entry: Sea Of Love
Open Mic Night Wk 21 Entry: No Defeat


Melodious Music Memoirs # 26: Ethereal Presence
Open Mic Night Wk 22 Entry: Eye Contact
Open Mic Night Wk 23 Entry: PizzaGate
Melodious Music Memoirs # 27: Shadow Man-Dala
Open Mic Night Wk 24 Entry: Cherish


Melodious Music Memoirs # 28: Official Song Release Of "Cherish"
Open Mic Night Wk 25 Entry: I'mma Be A Father AKA "Harmony's Song"
Melodious Music Memoirs # 29: Sliver's Edge Of Ledd's Silver Lining
Open Mic Night Wk 26 Entry: Soulmates
Open Mic Night Wk 27 Entry: Beyond Words


Melodious Music Memoirs # 30: Beyond The Veil
Open Mic Night Wk 28 Entry: Waves
Open Mic Night Wk 29 Entry: The Echoes Of One Who Pondered
Open Mic Night Wk 30 Entry: God Gave Me A Solid Vision
Melodious Music Memoirs # 31: Ingrained


Open Mic Night Wk 31 Entry: Warning To The devil, Message To The People
Open Mic Night Wk 32 Entry: Thank God, I'm No Island





Thank you for reading & listening to this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.



I'll still be continuing accepting donations until I can reach my goal to fly out to america with my children and wife to visit my family as it is very urgent indeed.



I've raised $1825 and .85 cents of Steemit Currency in total from both My Posts and Donations from Steemit Community Members this 2017 forward and $95.00 in US Dollar Donations so far towards my goal of $ 6,000.00 (Six Thousand) US Dollars and will keep everyone updated with every new future post that I submit.
This total amount will not only include donations I've received to the Paypal account I've provided: [email protected], but it will also include the Steemit Currency that I accrue/receive from all of my personal posts starting the 1st of January of 2017 forward calculated after a 48 hour time frame is finished for the payout cycle of each post to avoid miscalculating the fluctuating price of Steemit Currency.



For more information on that, please check my New Year's/Happy Bday Post

Thanks sincerely again in advance for all your help, anything and everything helps.


A SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL GENEROUS AND GIVING DONORS HERE FROM THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!
@fulltimegeek, @papa-pepper, @scammymcspambot, @prufarchy, @trevor.george, @dreemit, @inphiknit, @hopehuggs, @jedau, @sumsum, @edgarstudio, @the-future, @hanshotfirst, @tincho, @positive-trail, @ogochukwu, @kus-knee


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

love the latin tinge to this. From the <3 as usual - peace and blessings to you.

Thanks so much bro, appreciate you taking time out to listen, peace and blessings to you as well

Sweet! Your consistency amazes me.

Can't slip up now with all this momentum built up! Looking forward to every week bro, I'm pushing myself to see how far I can go. Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and do an open mic post before the deadline when I accidentally fall asleep out of sheer exhaustion lol I'll probably write a post about it soon

How cool is that? When I used to write songs for a living my father once asked me what inspired me to write so much and the honest answer was deadlines.

Not what he expected to hear but having a deadline when a song must be completed by made the song get finished.

Lol I can completely relate to this, deadlines for sure help boost the writing and execution process but I'm non stop writing and creating constantly because that's what I do,

I'm bound to stumble upon something significantly impacting and inspiring by he sheer volume of practice, forced or relaxed. We can truly only improve as long as we don't let up the pressure for too long, it's good to rest up, but I don't want to get complacent anytime soon and the Open Mic Contest is helping me keep track of how many songs I actually have created :)

Thanks again for starting it up and keeping it going

Killed it homie! Not many people can sing like that and spit. Keep it up. Upvoted!

Thank you very much bro, that's a very generous, humbling and kind compliment. I shall definitely keep it up. I appreciate your continued support

And I'm right.. ANOTHER CLASSIC. You weren't kidding when you said the music is going to knock my socks off. Sick beat! My head kept bobbing the whole time. This might even be your most head bobbing rhyme to date, brother! I really like your execution on this one. You never miss a single step, bro :D

Yeah I have a funny backstory on posting this particular Youtube video, I have to write that up for tomorrow for sure! This is one of my all time favorite beats EVER, and it's definitely a sick beat, J Dilla is too skillful with producing. Thanks for giving this a listen bro, your support is highly valued

Awesome! Excited to read what the backstory behind it is, brother.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.04 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the update

Yeah the truth hurts, Doesn’t mean you gotta bleed it out Cracks on the sidewalks Eventually a weed’ll sprout

Even though you've made me into more of a fan of rap music, I love when I get to hear your beautiful voice in the chorus :) Awesome my friend :)

Thank you so much my dear friend. I enjoy singing almost equally or a slightly bit more on my good days. Also big thanks for the SBD, maybe i'll end up in the east coast soon to visit my aunts in NJ so anything is possible, I also have a musician friend and brother in the faith in NY, it would be great to meet you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23