Open Mic Night Wk 7 Entry: Last Day (Original Song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Do you ponder the last day? I do often. It's good to live in the now, plan for the future and to keep in mind our past, but I can't get the Last Day(s) out of my head. It's what keeps me sharp, and aware of everything I do in life.


Source

Your views may differ from mine but I am sure we both think about the end times.

Please forgive me for any minor flaws in this performance piece. I'm submitting late and I'm still healing from being sick. Also please read the entire set of lyrics as you play the video, I put a lot of effort, focus and emphasis in them and hope you can take something positive from it.

The first few verses moreso documents me and Edgar's friendship and growth together doing music and lays the groundwork for a conversation piece and then the second half of the song really takes off full gear. Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for continuing another great week of performers and their entertaining entries.

Full Song Lyrics and Due Credits Provided Below

Beat produced by Q


Verses 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 written, created and performed by Verbal D


Transition written, created and performed by Edgar Miranda


Full Song Lyrics Here:

Verbal D
Verse 1:
Funny how the story goes
Back into the past I go
Making my way back down memory lane oh

Hasn't been a glory road
But you can see how far we've grown
Living our lives daily tryna maintain hope

Tryna make an impact with this music, love
Ask yourself, "Who's suffered?"
All Of Us
Whether trouble comes up, or the money goes down
We gon' make it
Yes we gon' make it
With love

Oh, Never give up on dreams and your goals
Hold on,
just a little bit longer, longer

Hold on
Just a little bit
Longer

Verbal D
Verse 2:
My boy E is a beast on acoustics
Know that I will stick to him like paper to glue stick
And when we are together we be making this music
Keeping it clean so make some room for my broomstick

Exploding on the mic, so we be making it BOOM quick
Got contagious sounds so we making the room sick
Studio time is waiting for us to tune it
Speaking from Frisco to Germans in Munich

Never wear us out like we a couple of tunics
Can't see our plans, we the masters of rubrics
Stacking a track house, laying down new bricks
Cannot ever measure us in units of cubics

Calling the shots like we be holding the pool sticks
We be the pool sharks we eat you up too quick
Chewing the beat up and our fangs be the cue sticks
Stuck between our lines and so be needing a toothpick

Verbal D
Verse 3:
Man, always knew we could do it
Never doubt yourself if you don't got any blueprints
Stepping off the edge when we knew that the shoe fit
Lock jaw on the beat, biting through it like blue Pitts

Now rise to the top without the fame and fortune
When I'm spitting lines it got my brain cavorting
Then my flame be scorching
And my name be torching
People hear my rap and know what game I'm sporting, Yes

Music stays important
Rap is a woman
She's the dame I'm courting
This love thang, inside my veins it's coursing
Never take a step back, I came enforcing

With a full clean mentality, bring change, I'm warping
Striking like the poison of a gang of scorpions
Competition be asleep like a volcano dormant
I tell it how it is you cannot blame informant
Never, never, never...

Edgar
Transition:
Life is so hard
We're shuffled like cards
When will it all, all end?

Before that day comes
I'll spend my love
Until the day I...ascend

Cause power and greed
We're not meant for me
I won't even try to pretend

So hold on to your dreams
Keep them under your sleeves
You still may use them one day

Cause when we're all gone
This will be the song
That our life depends

That is why I wanna see the change
With my own hands
And I will do anything in my whole power, to bring out the plan
And take a stand...

Verbal D
Verse 4:
We keep it moving like low income families
Because of greedy landlords asking for more rent
But if it was the real Lord of lands
I'd be looking around asking people where all of the floors went

I picture heaven with its golden metal gates
People dying to get in you can see the door's bent
Cause if you get in your forgiven of sins
Cause the love of Jesus Christ is pure and absorbent

There's no place that's higher than heaven
If you end up elsewhere it's only a dead end
If you're granted the blessing of entering
Better know that many people have been waiting for centuries

Even if you died of some horrible injuries
It doesn't grant you a special place in this history
Engulfed in fire where there's plenty of misery
Is that what you prefer just to own a few Bentleys?

Verbal D
Verse 5:
This material world it wasn't meant for me
And if you don't make it to heaven then I know it wasn't meant to be
And though I'm speaking intentfully
Physically I am here but I will leave here eventually

The downfall of human morality's not a mystery
We make our own decisions like we're impaired, mentally
We know what we do when we sin
And before we begin, all the way to the end

Even then knowing the consequences
We disregard The dangers oh how relentless
We think we are gods oh how pretentious
Can't believe how we act oh how we wretches

Can wrap a noose around our own necks like wrenches
Cutting off our air supply so senseless
Life is a war zone filled with trenches
So when we're not of God we're left defenseless
Think about it,
Think about it,
Think about it...

Song Lyrics Copyrighted by Verbal D


Thanks for reading and listening to this post in its entirety. Hope you enjoyed it and that it inspired you in some way shape or form. Please feel free to leave your thoughts and impressions in the comments section. Have a blessed day and love pure.

If you missed my other previous Melodious Music Memoirs, including Open Mic Contest Wk Entries, Please click on the provided links below:

Melodious Music Memoirs # 1: Change The World
Melodious Music Memoirs # 2: Impact
Melodious Music Memoirs # 3: My Mother
THE STEEMIT SONG
Melodious Music Memoirs # 4: Statements
Melodious Music Memoirs # 5: Love, Passion, Passion, Love
Melodious Music Memoirs # 6: Nothing But Bliss - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 2 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 7: The Bitcoin Song - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 3 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 8: Vacay - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 4 Entry
Open Mic Night Wk 5 Entry: Grim Is Out Stretching Death Fields
Melodious Music Memoirs # 9: When Darkness Falls
Open Mic Night Wk 6: Amnesia

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Nice post, thanks for sharing. Cheers.

Thank you very much for your nice words. I'm more than happy to share my music with you all. Thanks also for listening, Cheers :)

Looking forward to it.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Thank you for the update

Nice work as always @verbal-d.....you got my vote and lets see )

Thank you bro, I appreciate your vote. Let's see the results as well. By the way congrats on reputation 58!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93