Open Mic Night Wk 13 Entry: Dad, I Believe That's Love (Original Song)

in #originalmusic8 years ago (edited)

Not gonna lie, this is my 15th take or so, trying not to cry, or tear up. It was a tough song to perform and you may not have the backstory to my childhood but I hope you can take something profound from this song and keep it within your hearts.

This is a very revealing song in a very vague way when it comes to Me as a person. I'll just leave it at that.

I love my parents and my family indeed and I will be a great parent like them everyday forward to my children as well.

Full Song Lyrics and Due Credit's Below:

If you have difficulty playing the soundcloud player provided above, here is the direct link to the
Dad, I Believe That's Love, which will redirect you to the website, Soundcloud.

Song's Due Credits:


Original Beat Produced By Q-Tip


Beat Re-Produced by Verbal D


Chorus Performed by D'Angelo


Verses 1, 2 & 3, Written, Created & Performed by Verbal D


Full Song Lyrics:

Verbal D
Verse 1:
I walk around the city and people say I’m handsome,
But Dad, you’re the type to keep for ransom.
People compliment you, all proud shaking your hand some
Cause you're selling cars, working hard, sweatin’ and some

There’s no spitting these bars like I planned ‘em
So much to say in the way that seems random
See you at the top, so don’t you ever drop
But even if you did, then I’d be jumping for you, tandem

…Father-son relationship’s not quite a warzone
I hate when things pop off like a handgun
…Sometimes we have some disagreements rather than fun
But you’re only one phone call away on my Samsung

I wish we talked more, this love that we fought for
Lines be getting choked up and tied into knot cords
Sometimes I can’t express the things I need to say
So I made this song purely for the love that I’ve brought forth

D'Angelo
Chorus:
That’s love, That’s love, That’s love(x4)
That’s love (x2)

Verbal D
Verse 2:
Some children grow up without having a father.
The ones who walk out like why should I bother?
Where being a dad is more an inconvenience.
And raising their kids with no love or lenience

Some people weren’t meant to be parents
Living for themselves, like their kids were transparent
Or translucent, what a nuisance
Some people beat their kids for amusement

That’s not something to laugh about
Seeing the value of the children by half amounts
When I’m father, I won’t have a doubt
That I’ll love em all regardless whether short and stout,

Got a thick snout, big mouth, small face, tall base,
All waist, smart, dumb or accident prone
I will love them all the same
Just like you love me now and in the past, so don’t change

D'Angelo
Chorus:
That’s love, That’s love, That’s love(x4)
That’s love (x2)

Verbal D
Verse 3:
In this moment I record, It’s never “I be bored”
You can feel my feelings in the way that I keyboard
Open up your arms And let me just lean forward
Cause when I think of you There’s a place that I reach for

It’s your heart, your soul, your mind
And I’m very proud of you from the distance you climbed
You took our family from the ghettoes From the gutter to the meadows
Just to bring us up another level

Not sleeping on the ground Got a bed with a pillow
That’s deep appreciation Like the notes on a cello
For less you never settled Did whatever it took
To raise us right So you never got shook

Even through hard times, You never got hooked down
Now we at the top, So we're looking around
Many haters everywhere, Only looking to clown
Cause they’re jealous that my father brought us up from the ground, yeah

D'Angelo
Chorus:
That’s love, That’s love, That’s love(x4)
That’s love (x2)

Song Lyrics Copyrighted by Verbal D



Well, thank you again for reading and listening to the post in its entirety.

If you missed my other previous Melodious Music Memoirs, including Open Mic Contest Wk Entries, Please click on the provided links below:

Melodious Music Memoirs # 1: Change The World
Melodious Music Memoirs # 2: Impact
Melodious Music Memoirs # 3: My Mother
THE STEEMIT SONG
Melodious Music Memoirs # 4: Statements
Melodious Music Memoirs # 5: Love, Passion, Passion, Love
Melodious Music Memoirs # 6: Nothing But Bliss - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 2 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 7: The Bitcoin Song - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 3 Entry
Melodious Music Memoirs # 8: Vacay - Open Mic Night Contest Wk 4 Entry
Open Mic Night Wk 5 Entry: Grim Is Out Stretching Death Fields
Melodious Music Memoirs # 9: When Darkness Falls
Open Mic Night Wk 6 Entry: Amnesia
Open Mic Night Wk 7 Entry: Last Day
Open Mic Night Wk 8 Entry: Spaceman Jones
Open Mic Night Wk 9 Entry: Somehow
Melodious Music Memoirs # 10: Structural Adaptation Acoustic and Oriental Versions
Melodious Music Memoirs # 11: All Dogs Go To Heaven - R.I.P. Bear
Melodious Music Memoirs # 12: Epic Arena
Melodious Music Memoirs # 13: Fast Lane
Open Mic Night Wk 10 Entry: End Of My Season
Melodious Music Memoirs # 14: Industrial Flames All Fired Up
Open Mic Night Wk 11 Entry: Get With The BlockChain
Melodious Music Memoirs # 15: Shattered Rainbows, Broken Skies
Melodious Music Memoirs # 16: Whip
THE BIGFOOT SONG
Melodious Music Memoirs # 17: Romance & Bliss
Open Mic Night Wk 12 Entry: Crime Lord
Melodious Music Memoirs # 18: Do You See What Chia Seeds?

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

This is incredible and beautiful!! I love all the fatherly gifs you included too. But that song-writing is a real talent

Here's your winner @luzcypher

Thank you for that amazing reaction and comment @beanz, that is heartwarming and really kind of you to say so. It means a lot. I'm glad you liked this so much.

Such skills on the mic! And a touching and heartfelt delivery! A true gem in the land of Steemit, you're simply brimming with talent and creative genius, man.

Beautifully done yet again!

Thank you a lot man, it's good to see you again in the comments section. I knew you would be able to appreciate the depth of the song and glad you enjoyed this as much I did performing it. Always staying busy in the creative realm, aiming to secure more musical gemstones to share and pass out to the willing listeners out there. Grateful for you checking it out.

Lovely :) I didn't know you were a dad, I'm sure you're an amazing one. I have two gorgeous stepsons I adore, more like kid brothers to me-my husband's a little older and he started young-and we have two beauties as well. It's an awesome privilege to be a parent.
I'm sure your dad was touched by that song :)

Thank you very much for being the first to comment. bless your children and family. That's great and I'm sure you're an amazing mother. To see pictures of my children go to my wife's page @happyharmonymay. And yes, my dad loved the song and it brought my mom to tears out of joy. Mission accomplished, an impactful song to always look back on.

great song man. nice flow. and awesome meaning. a lot of parents could learn from your compassion and understanding of what good parent is. thanks for sharing this.

Thank you very much bro for checking it out and giving it a chance. I hope people can take some valuable lessons from this one. I appreciate your comment, for this song especially.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.13 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

You got the flow bro! Added it to the weekly cue. Thanks @verbal-d

Thank you very much for dropping a comment on my entry bro. I really appreciate it and look forward as always to future weeks. Happy New Year's, which is also my birthday :). Hope you have a great day and celebrate safely and being with your loved ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65