argentina 8 [eng]

in #travel5 years ago

hello dear friends

it’s quite nice here in the hostel, in el chaltén, again I can write something and I take you into my first week la plata and buenos aires, before we started traveling south.


10.15. - 21.10.

Today is an Argentine holiday, I think it's Mother's Day. That's why we decided today not much to move and after shopping, I started to bake bread that we then consumed with delicious homemade guacamole.
I spent the rest of the day mainly searching out different travel routes and things that are not to be missed in Patagonia.
For example, there is a so-called 'fin de mundo' train, a steam railway that travels from ushuaia to a nearby national park.

In addition, many glaciers, hot springs and mountains that we can explore, as well as my personal highlight, penguin colonies.
we fell asleep early.

Today we wanted to go to buenos aires. Chris had won a beer pong tournament here at a party of a student association. the price was a 4 day trip to the iguazu waterfalls. So we drove to the office of the association first, so he could find out if he could still take that trip or not. Unfortunately, there was no clear answer.

After a delicious ice cream and a stroll through Palermo, we went in search of second-hand stores, which might want to get rid of a few good things that we can use for the Patagonia trip.
Nils comes from the Caribbean and is not used to rain or snow. I also bought a new pair of pants and a new jacket.
with scarf, cap and sweaters equipped, we drove back to la plata.
but before we discovered this wonderful collection.

when I went to get some money, the atm did not give my card back. So I drove home to la plata with a little queasy feeling. Here we quickly bought some vegetables and beer and then cooked a very delicious noodle run.

a bit tired, due to yesterday's action and the many kilometers that we walked through the city, we got up late today and enjoyed the leftovers of the noodle casserole. I wrote a new blogpost and in the early afternoon we ran to a friend of chris, who lives nearby and will call the bank for me to find out if and how I can get my card back.

It turned out that I have to go to the bank and then just ask. I planned to do this for tomorrow.
later in the evening we went to a theater nearby, a friend of chris plays here in a small show and the alternative concept I liked very much, even though we did not understand so much, because it was mainly spanish.

the rest of the evening we spent some leisurely beer in a bar, in which a mundo lingo evening took place.

These are special "parties" for people who want to communicate to new people in different languages. it works like this:
everyone gets some small flags stickers at the entrance and puts them on the chest, depending on what languages ​​he speaks.

characterized so you can now easily recognize who speaks the same language. then you just randomly chat with people. the best is that it connects travelers and locals with the goal of intercultural exchange and learning languages.
For example, I got to know an Argentine woman who had lived in Germany for some time and who owns a boat here in La Plata. she invited me and chris shortly thereafter, to go on a regatta to uruguay, when she heard that I can also sail for years.
I also met a wonderful girl named Celeste, she also lives here in La Plata and has lived in Frankfurt for several months, her German is at a breathtaking level and she studies here to become a German teacher. We talked a lot and about a lot of different things, but luckily not the normal smalltalk, that, after traveling here for so long, is just exhausting.
At 2 we were back home and fell asleep.

today did not happen very much, i slept off a long time while chris was in college and in the evening we met with nils to cook on the grill of the girls from oktoberfest, we did a delicious asado and talked a lot about politics. all about the legalization of abortion here in argentina, as well as about bolsonaro and the manifold problems of brazil and south america in general.
It was a very cozy evening, chris had bought very good sausages from a German restaurant in the city and we also enjoyed delicious grilled vegetables before we go home not too late.

awake in the morning i felt like, I had to bake cookies. So I ran to the supermarket and got everything I needed, but it takes more than an hour to complete, because all the coffers are constantly understaffed and the people put a rest to the day, which almost upset me. Back in the apartment, I realized that I had not bought peanuts. So I'm off again and have waited endlessly for it again.

When I finally had everything together, I stirred the dough together and then i put sheet by sheet of cookies in the oven.
In the evening I had arranged to meet celeste in a bar at the other end of the city, so I left at around 7 pm and phoned Edda in São Paulo for about an hour.
She had just brought her family to the airport and was in a little downcast.
with celeste i had a wonderful evening in the bar until the moment, when i wanted to pay. i realized, that i did not have my portmonee with me.
luckily she had enough money and could pay that for me. I did not feel that bad for a long time.
after bringing her home, I fell asleep happily.

I slept very long today and in the middle of the day I watched: interstellar, the christopher nolan film, witch combines: the extinction of humanity, interstellar travel and love so wonderfully, that you can not get enough of it.

In the early evening I drove freshly showered and loaded with cookies to the train station. unfortunately, the train drove very slowly and stopped after a few stations, we had to get out and continue with buses, because there was an accident on the rails and the train could not continue.
After a short question I sat in the right bus, which was not even in the city after one and a half hours later. so I decided to get out and take a uber to: beer life, a bar in the city, where Nils, theo and Joe were already drinking beer, awaiting me.

We stayed there until about 1 o'clock, afterwards I drove to Theo to wait for Chris, who wanted to go to the underclub with me. because tonight we would finally dance to techno again. i missed it for so long...

It was a nice noisy night, which ended for us at 11 am, when we crawled under the blanket in la plata again.

today's hangover Sunday can be summed up quickly and easily, we slept until 6pm, ordered a pizza, watched some netflix eating and then fell asleep again.
a night like yesterday costs reserves.


Thank you for taking the time to swing by in here again! I wish you a great day, you can look forward to the next entry, I will report in detail about our hitchhike trip to ushuaia.

bye for now

love
pauli


here my current contact data:

mail: [email protected]
Telephone: +54 221 454 7949
whatsapp: +54 9 11 2693-6601
blog: https://steemit.com/@schningelnatter
in case you want to be a bit more updated, instagram: @schlingelnatter


list of previous posts from this south america travel (chronological)

argentinia 1 ger/eng
argentinia 2 ger/eng
argentinia 3 ger/eng
chile 1 ger/eng
chile 2 ger/eng
chile 3 ger/eng
chile 4 ger/eng
chile 5 ger/eng
andes 1 ger/eng
argentinia 4 ger/eng
argentinia 5 ger/eng
argentinia 6 ger
argentinia 6 eng
argentinia 7 ger
argentinia 7 eng
chile 6 ger
chile 6 eng
chile 7 ger
chile 7 eng
chile 8 ger
chile 8 eng
chile 9 ger
chile 9 eng
chile 10 ger
chile 10 eng
bolivia 1 ger
bolivia 1 eng
bolivia 2 ger
bolivia 2 eng
peru 1 ger
peru 1 eng
peru 2 ger
peru 2 eng
brazil 1 ger
brazil 1 eng
brazil 2 ger
brazil 2 eng
brazil 3 ger
brazil 3 eng
brazil 4 ger
brazil 4 eng
brazil 5 ger
brazil 5 eng
brazil 6 ger
brazil 6 eng
brazil 7 ger
brazil 7 eng
brazil 8 ger
brazil 8 eng
brazil 9 ger
brazil 9 eng
brazil 10 ger
brazil 10 eng
brazil 11 ger
brazil 11 eng
brazil 12 ger
brazil 12 eng

Sort:  

Servus! :D

I've just stumbled across this post of yours and totally loved the language party you talked about! Also, there were times I used to be a beer pong professional, but in Slovakia/Austria, there have never been such awesome prizes for being good at this haha :D

Anyway, I just shared your post in Pay it forward curation league, let's hope some more people will show up here!

My post is here, feel free to join the "club" and post the same :)

Take care!

Nice! u r the one of two of my followers who do that :D I mean..except for other participants..

I read every post you upload and If the posts you mention are good and I like them I also upvote them. I know how hard it was to get votes in the beginning ^^

Thanks for this great report, which I have found because @matkodurko featured in the Pay It Forward Contest

Wonderful episode of your amazing adventure! Thanks so much for sharing - and inspiring us to want to travel further.

I found this post thanks to @matkodurko who featured you in this week's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Congratulations @schlingelnatter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82