brazil 10 [eng]

in #travel6 years ago

hello dear friends

another sunny day in the beautiful buenos aires, where i would like to tell you about my days in rio, cabo frio and guarapari. Have fun reading and viewing the photos.

a big thank you for the stunning feedback on brazil 9, i'm so glad you're all part of my journey here.


24.9. - 30.9.

today's adventure started after breakfast and when I made some space in the car. We drove some streets to collect a French couple, which would accompany us to the abandoned, gavea tourist hotel '.
The road led us to a mountain side overlooking the ocean, from the distance you could already see the big complex.

we searched for a hole in the fence through which we can get in. We then skidded down the slippery path that followed the course of a small river.

the construction of this hotel began in 1953, it was planned as a super-class hotel, with fantastic views of the bay and the rainforest surrounding the hotel.
19 years later, however, the construction company went out of business and all work stopped. The corpus of the hotel, which is also known as esqueleto, remains skeletal.
In recent years, the hotel was used by gangs out of the city as a storage area of ​​drugs and weapons, so we were particularly careful and explored carefully ready at any time to hit the way back.

However, we did not meet anyone and when climbing the 16 sticks we discovered some interesting things.
the view from the roof is just insane, that would have been one of the nicest hotels in rio if they had finished it.

Scratched and sweaty we got back to the car after this semi-legal and definitely dangerous action and i say thanks to nils especially for the fact that he found something that great.
the further way led us to a beach, where we cooled down through the waves.

#beachoutfitrulez

I've been testing my outfit for the burns next year.

bruno took us further and further in the direction of itaguai, here was the next obscure thing to see, the 'cidade albanoel', planned to be the biggest themed park in brazil, this attraction was also never completed because of the death of its developer.
the only 'land' that was almost finished is christmas, with slides, candy canes and santa claus figures. everything old and mossy and good for a few photos, but unfortunately not really something to explore, since the current owner has dogs and don’t like tourists.

we drove back to the hostel. unfortunately i drove a wrong turn, that forced us to take a 22-kilometer-long road, because I drove on the bridge that spans the bay of Rio.
After this day, filled with events and surprises, we fell asleep easily in our pillows.

I woke up early today and after trying my morning meditation, I downloaded the itau bank app at the breakfast.

This financial institution has set up a bicycle sharing system in some of Brazil's major cities. So you can drive for 5 reales with a bike through the city for a whole day.
Together with Edda I drove to the harbor and the art museum. Here is a gigantic street painting by the artist Kobra.

in the museum we went through an exhibition which had the samba and the brazilian carnival for the main theme. however, there was a floor that dealt entirely with the work of the artist tunga, he is brazilian and has been making all sorts of concept art for almost 30 years. his images of sexual self-understanding and a film about a project called: o nervo de prata, have impressed me a lot.

very exciting museum and a really nice thing to go through there.
We then hiked around the museum of tomorrow, which has a fascinating façade.

With the bike we went back to Lapa, the district where our hostel is located. We bought everything to make us a delicious fruit salad and a guacamole.
I knew for a long time that Edda was also at the german festival called: ‚zurück zu den wurzel’, in 2017, but in our conversation it turned out that she even participated in my workshop: avocado actions, in which I talked about the good and also the not that great aspects of the avocado fruit with a bunch of amazing people. as part of this workshop, we also carved a chain pendant from an avocado seed and made the largest guacamole in the world from around 35 avocados.
It is crazy, what coincidences happen here again and again. I was even more pleased to meet edda here for the second time.

In the afternoon we went back up the mountain to eat a delicious açaí and when we got back to the hostel, I met a group of Germans from Berlin who have just come back from the lovely 100 people festival, which they organized on an island in the Amazonas. maybe that's the best idea ever and they are super relaxed people, the name of their collective is: ‚o mato‘, is definitely a hot tip, because they are also active around berlin and organize open airs and parties. check it out in any case.

http://o-mato.com

this group then set off in the evening: la comuna, a small club with a burger shop about 20 minutes away. here they wanted to play vinyls and chill at their party. Almost the entire hostel was on the way to this place and after edda and i talked a lot, while the dinner, we set off with bruno, nilsi and the others in the back of the car.
It was a nice evening with relaxed music and lovely conversations. great people.

On the last morning in Rio, I did not wake up very well and packed my stuff that morning. in the loaded car, also packed with edda and nils, we went to the bus station, after we had said goodbye to all the dear people in the hostel. on our way up the mountain, we stopped again to eat a delicious ice cream and pao de quejio.

We say goodbye at the bus station, because the two of them would take a ride along the way to Sao Paulo, while I drove to the beaches in the direction of Cabo Frio.

the roads that surround the lagoon are really good to drive bruno like a race car.

In the evening I reached cabo frio and here I met mori at the hostel, who then told me about their great trip to alto de paraiso, a city in central brazil.

Well rested, I woke up today in the macro hostel. After the big breakfast, I wrote three postcards and then Mori and I drove together to our destination today, Arraial do Cabo. a peninsula just south of cabo frio. according to other travelers from rio, there are some of the most beautiful beaches in all of rio.

We reached the Peninsula without any problems and stopped for the first time at a tiny beach, to which we had to climb down some cliffs. on the way back to the car, we passed an abandoned building, which stands on a hill a little raised above the peninsula. we climbed the roof and took some pictures.

Short time later, after a hell of road with holes larger than my knee high, we arrived at our destination: prainhas do atalaia, a white sugar sand beach in front of a light blue sea, with offshore island. far too beautiful and confirmed the things that I had already heard, looks like the Caribbean seas.

Around 4 we drove back and after shower and dinner, I said goodbye to mori and drove north.
I hope to see the sunrise tomorrow morning out of the car on a beach heading east.

Shortly before the sunrise my mobile alarm woke me up. I sat in the driver's seat and quickly turned the car around, then lying back in the sun to enjoy the sunrise directly on the beach.
However, I did not realize that it might not be so easy to get me out of the sand of the beach. at 7 o'clock I got stuck. the right front wheel had dug deep into the beach.

I first tried to help with some wood, but that was not very successful. Then I made my way to the settlement to look for people who could help me. I found a restaurant, a man, understood that I have a problem with my car and was so friendly to follow me and push. but that did very little, then he ran off again, explaining to me, I should wait shortly.
Meanwhile, I wrote with lea from Germany, she lived on Lanzarote for a long time and knows a lot about beach-car stuff. Her tip was to search for stones. So I built a kind of road out of the stones in front of the tires and I also brought in some below the tires.
in the moment, when I wanted to test if this does anything, the man and two of his acquaintances came with a car. Unfortunately, they had not found a rope, but I still had an old one in my backpack.
two pushed from behind, I drove in the car and the last pulled the rope with the car.
it jerked and moved a little, but then bruno broke free and we rolled back onto the dirt road.
I thanked the men and drove in the direction of the highway.

here I drove and drove, after a few hundred kilometers and breaks, I reached guarapari. a small coastal town in espírito santo. Here I found my next guest / employer from workaway. Joaquim, he has a pousada (guest house) here and I help him with the visitors and keep the house clean.
it will surely be a quiet time the next few days, gather strength, write blog and maybe go surfing.
I have my own room where I sleep.

I woke up early in the morning and after shower and breakfast joaquim showed me what to do. rake leaves, wash, sweep and wipe. but only two three hours in the morning, then I'm free and can dedicate to what I enjoy, so i spend the afternoon on the couch with: "the great dictator", from chaplin, a strong movie, if you considering the time he was shot. 1940.

In the afternoon I went to the city to buy fruit and look around. all relatively unspectacular, it's like joaquim said. guarapari is a destination for brazilians and there are hardly any gringos.
I went to bed early in the evening. the next few days are relaxed too.

Even today, after a morning shower and breakfast, I relaxed for a long time in the sun. I thought later that it is a good moment to wash my backpack and so I have just cleaned this completely, removed the back reinforcement and packed everything in the washing machine.
it was really time, it’s the first time for 10 month. After that I started my work, i swept and wiped the house clean.

In the afternoon I wrote a new post and ate a delicious fruit salad, just like every day.

Unfortunately, my charger has been broken for some time and I always load my cell phone with borrowed plugs. Tomorrow I'll see what the city has to offer.
in the evening i watched the new movie: IT by stephen king, the premier is long ago, i know, but it's the new edition of a classic from 1990. the new movie deals a lot better with the characters and I'm looking forward to the second part. even if there are some drastic changes to the book, one can say that the mood also exists without knowing the book. Nevertheless, I would recommend anyone to read the book or better to hear the audiobook, but not in the evening and alone, because it is fucking scary.


I'll say goodbye and love to you until next time. I would like to especially thank all the people who follow me here on steemit and support me with their upvotes. if you do not know them, you can drop by to check them out:

@twinner @shaka @followmikecee (only three examples)

love
pauli


here my current contact data:

mail: [email protected]
Telephone: +54 221 454 7949
whatsapp: +54 9 11 2693-6601
blog: https://steemit.com/@schningelnatter
in case you want to be a bit more updated, instagram: @schlingelnatter


list of old posts from the south america trip: (chronological)

argentinia 1 ger/eng
argentinia 2 ger/eng
argentinia 3 ger/eng
chile 1 ger/eng
chile 2 ger/eng
chile 3 ger/eng
chile 4 ger/eng
chile 5 ger/eng
andes 1 ger/eng
argentinia 4 ger/eng
argentinia 5 ger/eng
argentinia 6 ger
argentinia 6 eng
argentinia 7 ger
argentinia 7 eng
chile 6 ger
chile 6 eng
chile 7 ger
chile 7 eng
chile 8 ger
chile 8 eng
chile 9 ger
chile 9 eng
chile 10 ger
chile 10 eng
bolivia 1 ger
bolivia 1 eng
bolivia 2 ger
bolivia 2 eng
peru 1 ger
peru 1 eng
peru 2 ger
peru 2 eng
brazil 1 ger
brazil 1 eng
brazil 2 ger
brazil 2 eng
brazil 3 ger
brazil 3 eng
brazil 4 ger
brazil 4 eng
brazil 5 ger
brazil 5 eng
brazil 6 ger
brazil 6 eng
brazil 7 ger
brazil 7 eng
brazil 8 ger
brazil 8 eng
brazil 9 ger
brazil 9 eng

Sort:  

Awesome adventure you guys! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Another amazing story. What the hell a building in middle of nowhere's montain.
Was für eine tolle Gegend, Einfach unglaublich! Vielen lieben Dank für all diese Eindrücke und im speziellen für die Erwähnung.

Saludo de Santo Domingo DR

danke für deine lieben worte :)

ebenfalls salud!

건물이 키가 크고 고대인 것이 놀랍습니다. 그러나 건물은 자연 그대로의 위대하고 황야 한 가운데에서 강합니다, 형제, 나는 그것을 만드는 법을 알게 될 것입니다.

번역가와 나는 당신의 메시지를 이해했다고 생각합니다. 당신의 말에 감사드립니다!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44