Garden Update - Starting some seeds for the 2020 gardening season indoors

in #garden4 years ago

I bought some seeds and started them last night, 2/16/2020 indoors. I do have a greenhouse, but we are still getting freezing temperatures at night, even with the greenhouse enclosure. Here's what I bought and started:

IMG_6101.jpg

(photos below are from the Burpee website)

SuperSauce Hybrid Tomato

prod003154.jpg

Juliet Hybrid Tomato

prod001180.jpg

Medium-Rare Tomato

prod500763.jpg

Pesto Party Basil

prod100026.jpg

Mama Mia Giallo Hybird

prod500131.jpg

California Wonder Sweet Pepper

prod000825.jpg

I ended up using the shower in the spare room upstairs as the place to do the seedlings. Any dirt or water mess that I make will just go down the drain at the end.

I used some flats that I saved from previous years. This is why it's good to save these containers if possible.

IMG_6102.JPG

I used the miracle grow potting mix, which I keep in quantity at the house.

IMG_6103.JPG

Then I placed the seeds, covered them with more soil and watered. I used some plastic wrap to keep in the moisture.

IMG_6104.JPG

I will keep make more posts as they grow. As soon as I see some seedling action coming up, I'm planning on bringing inside one of my grow lights from the greenhouse and send the light down on them.

My friends, now is the time to plan or start your garden. Spring is coming.

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

The Harbor Freight 6x8 Greenhouse

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

nice job florio! i hope they all grow well with no fungus p-) i always struggle with tomatos where i am!

p.s. please do feel free to subscribe and post to the ecoTrain community, we give nice support and love these kinds of posts! xx

https://steempeak.com/c/hive-123046/created

Good luck with your seed starts. I noticed you have some posts about the Harbor Freight greenhouse. How does that thing hold up against the wind?

So far, so good on the greenhouse! I'll be showing it again soon, it will be time to use it very quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86