Garden Update - 11/4/17 - Fall Garden, Filling a bed, BroccolisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

I'm working in the garden today and wanted to give you an update.

We have our Broccoli, Cabbage and lettuce really coming along.

Cabbage looking great

Today's task is filling bed #6. This is the end of the 2nd year in the garden and I've only got half of the beds filled. It's just me doing the work and I work full time, so the progress is slow. I guess the turtle wins the race.

I had the local sawmill drop off a dump truck load of sawdust and I picked up a scoop of sand with my trailer. The Mittleider Gardening method has a recommendation of 1 part sand 3 parts sawdust (no walnut) for the growing medium. This is actually the 2nd dump truck load of sawdust which filled 4 beds. I've got 4 to go so we will see if we can finish filling the beds with this load.

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44