One major benefit of raised beds

in #garden7 years ago

We have been having major thunderstorms the last few days at my location. These storms have actually made some tornados, thankfully not at my house but near us.

As a result of these storms, we have had a giant amount of rain, so much so my man-hole covers have popped off and are completely flooded.

No worries, however, because my beds are high and dry. The raised beds keep the roots of the plants out of flooding waters. This is a major benefit to doing raised beds.

Sort:  

Great setup! Man! It must have been pouring!

Yes we've had something like 6" of rain in a week. That's a lot. Also, where my garden is, it's in the low spot so the neighbor's field next to my garden is slightly higher and tends to send more water my way, right down my main walkway in the garden. I'm definitely glad I have the raised beds.

Wow, that is beautiful trellis and garden too. I have raised beds also but they are not framed in. Just keep them mulched with leaves and straw and they stay in place

Thanks! I'm on my 2nd year at this location, and am still "under construction"... I've been working most weekends when there is nice weather. I'm certainly glad to have as much progress as I do, and hope to have the entire garden done soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65