Garden Update - Planted Potatoes - 2/25/18

in #garden6 years ago

I planted some potatoes today in my bed #1. I had two bags of potatoes that I saved from last year's harvest:

Photo Feb 25, 2 12 33 PM.jpg
Yukon Gold

Photo Feb 25, 2 12 41 PM.jpg

Red Potatoes

I also bought some seed potatoes from Chatham Farm and Home - https://chathamfarmsupply.com

I had not been to that store before, but I'm glad a friend of mine told me about it. If you need anything to accomplish your gardening project, they would have it. I was very impressed and will be sure to go back. Maybe I'll take some photos and make a post about their operation there.

Doing the Mittleider method, I first put down the pre-plant mix:

Photo Feb 25, 2 16 57 PM.jpg

And then the weekly feed.

Photo Feb 25, 2 16 59 PM.jpg

You put down the pre-plant mix once, at planting time and then the weekly feed once a week.

So, on the left hand side of the of the bed #1, I put first the red potatoes. These are ones I saved from my potatoes from last year. I ended up with 10 feet of bed space of the red potatoes. You do alternating 8" planting.

Photo Feb 25, 2 27 42 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 2 28 17 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 2 27 34 PM.jpg

There was crazy growth as you can see from the eyes of these.

One of the varieties of potatoes that I picked up from the Chatham Country Farm and Home was Yukon Gold. I also had some of the Yukon Gold saved from last year, so I mixed theirs and mine for the 2nd part of the left side of the bed.

Photo Feb 22, 1 34 31 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 2 41 00 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 2 37 18 PM.jpg

Once I planted those, I then moved over to the right side of the bed, and planted the Purple Viking that I picked up from the Country Farm and Home.

Photo Feb 25, 3 34 59 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 22, 1 26 42 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 3 48 18 PM.jpg

I had 136" of those,I then put down the Banana Fingerling.

Photo Feb 22, 1 29 35 PM.jpg

Photo Feb 25, 3 48 24 PM.jpg

I've not done fingerling potatoes before, so I'm looking forward to trying these. So, that's that, bed #1 is planted and I'm excited to have that done!

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

I'm totally jealous! I want to get started but I can't.

Great post buddy!

That's super awesome Chris! Inspiring!

Thanks!!!!

Again I am kinda jealous of your setup LOL. Looks great. It has started, we are putting crop into the ground. I can't wait!! =)

Nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71