Potato Harvest and pressure canning some of them

in #gardening7 years ago

I harvested my potatoes for the season and got 6 home depot buckets full. This is after doing some harvesting earlier as we went to eat off of.

Here's a photo from back in May of my bed with the potatoes. (the one in the back, the one closer to the camera is my squash/zucchini).

We cleaned the potatoes that we were going to can and then skinned them and quartered them.

Sorry I didn't take more photos during the canning procedure, it was time sensitive keeping the glass jars with the heat right and moving product around.

Sort:  

@florio, I find that remembering to take photos while canning is one of the hardest parts of STEEMIT. I can't tell you how many times I've sat down to write a post and realized that I missed over half the process in pictures. Grrrr :-( not fun. You did a great job with this post. Upvoted and following.

Do you just use water in the canning process, or does it have something in it?

Yes, water. Boiling water. You first boil the potatoes, then you scoop them up and use fresh boiling water. You want to leave the starch in the pot that you boil them in.

That makes sense. The water looked cleaner than the water they would have boiled in.

Very nice harvest.
I like your raised bed watering setup.

What a great harvest!
I have one bucket full from my small garden and plan to eat them over the next month or so.
Do you know how long they will keep when canned?

From what I've read, they will keep at least 2 years canned. They will remain edible for years after that but the nutritional value goes down.

I am planning on canning another batch at least. I'm also thinking of using my food saver and vacuum sealing some. I don't want these potatoes to go to waste.

I too have a vacuum food saver sealer.
Will you vacuum pack fresh to use in winter? Or cook and freeze? I never thought about vacuum sealing potatoes and think the idea is ingenious!

I was thinking of just vacuum packing them fresh to use in the winter.

Hi @florio
Do you have experience growing onions?
Mine have bent over and stopped growing. I want to leave them in the soil for another week, but it is raining alot. Should I pull them?

My onions are tiny. I need to learn this as well.

So awesome from field to kitchen!!

Congratulations @florio! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice job! what perfect beds you have! beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44