Mittleider Method - Watering System

in #garden7 years ago

In my opinion, the most important step in doing the Mittleider Gardening system is the automatic watering system. My first year on the property, I didn't do that step and ended up not being able to water every day and plants died. This is the thing with gardening, you learn by experience - and sometimes you experience hardship.

So learn from me, do the watering system from the get-go. It's the most important step.

What is the Mittleider watering system? You run PVC pipes down your beds and you drill 3 holes every 4 inches and the water sprays out.

So for my setup, I ended up putting these water timers into manholes that I dug into the ground.

That was a mistake. This type of timer isn't geared toward being submerged. These holes will get totally filled with water if a heavy rain comes. I ended up redoing this and putting in a Hunter irrigation timer setup. Again, live and learn. If this were above ground, or you put this right at the spigot at your house, it would have worked great.

Anyway, good luck with your garden. It's highly important to give your plants the needed water, and doing the watering system is the way to go!

Sort:  

I was really surprised reasing the headline.

Did you know that "Mitleid" in German means sympathy (literally together-suffering)?
So maybe he have sympathy for your plants in watering them constantly using this system?

That is possible :-)

The method is named after Jacob Mittleider who came up with the concepts behind this gardening system.

More information can be found here:

https://growfood.com

Nice setup, really like how the timer is kept underground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65