Fall Garden planting and row covers / in the garden greenhouse

in #garden7 years ago

I spent the weekend preparing my beds and planting my fall garden.

I took some photos today, and this is when the good action happened anyway.

I planted some lettuce varieties and some broccoli and cabbage.

I also transferred my in the garden green house hoops from row 3 to row 1. To do an in the garden greenhouse, you need some 3/4" 200 PSI PVC for the pvc holders that you hammer into the ground and some regular 1/2" schedule 40 PVC.

You cut the 3/4" pvc into 18" lengths. I have a 30 foot bed, and you place them every 18 inches starting at the front. That will give you 21 hoops, so you need 42 of the 18" lengths.

You then hammer the 18" lengths every 18" down the side of the grow boxes, flush with the top of the grow box.

And you put a galvanized screw through the bottom. The PVC hoops will then rest on that screw.

You then stick the 1/2" PVC in the holder on one side and bend it over to the other and stick it in the other side. Instant hoop. It is very helpful if you have a helper push the pvc over to you. You need a little strength to bend the hoops. I don't remember the length of the hoops, sorry. I move the hoops from a bed that I had the hoops on from the spring. I want to say it was 6 feet but don't quote me on that length.

I'm draping agribond on the bed, this will keep out bugs and weeds and also shade the plants. I learned my lesson in the spring, the broccoli will sun scald without a little shade and protection.

https://www.amazon.com/Agribon-Floating-Blanket-Garden-Fabric/dp/B0157AJIPA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1505089940&sr=8-2&keywords=agribon

To clip the agribond to the hoops, I have made some clips by cutting small sections of the 200 psi 3/4" pvc with a dremel.

Be sure to wear safety glasses when cutting the pvc like this. Probably any use of a dremel, actually.

On the ends, I just use some rocks to close the sides.

I'm looking forward to my fresh broccoli soon!

Sort:  

I agree with @coldsteem.....this awesome!

Awesome. The PVC makes for a nice support. Looks like a lot of work, but it will be worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65