Garden Harvest - Broccoli harvest - 1/1/2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

The temperatures in North Carolina have been extremely cold lately and will be getting worse before they get better. I decided to d a major harvest of my broccoli crowns and blanch and freeze them in order to preserve them.

The plants themselves looked fairly pitiful because of the cold, however the crowns themselves did not look like they suffered any damage.

I cut off about a dozen large crowns and brought them inside.

I got some water boiling in my canning pot and my large scooping spoon

And a bowl with ice water ready

Each crown was washed thoroughly

And cut

Then boiled for 3 minutes

After 3 minutes, the broccoli is scooped from the boiling water

And chilled in the ice water for 3 minutes

While the next batch is boiled. I ended up changing the boiling water twice and the ice water each time.

The broccoli goes from the ice water, to a draining colander

Then to the salad spinner

And then I put them in zip lock bags and froze them. I'm glad the weekend provided me some time to get this done before the extreme cold destroyed my crop.

How is your winter garden handling this unusual cold snap?

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

Mmm. Nice looking broccoli! We harvested the last of ours in November. Right now all that is left alive under one layer of plastic is some lettuce, spinach, and maybe a few radishes and green onions... hard to believe it will be time to start sowing seeds in just a few more weeks!

I’m definitely looking forward to the spring planting!

Nice looking broccoli you got there bud.

@originalworks

Thanks!! It’s very tasty fresh right from the garden too!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @florio to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Happy New Years.

Happy new year to you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44