Assembling the Harbor Freight 6x8 Greenhouse

in #gardening7 years ago

I purchased the Harbor Freight 6x8 greenhouse last fall and just assembled it this weekend.

If you want this greenhouse, my suggestion is to get it on Cyber Monday, if you have a Harbor Freight that you can drive to in your area. My Harbor Freight locally on Cyber Monday matched the online price, and I was then able to use the 20% off coupon on top of that.

Anyway, I had some help available this weekend, so we assembled it now. I was really glad to get it up and get that giant box out of my barn.

I'm going to say the hardest part of this assembly is the foundation. There are many videos on-line showing many different versions of foundations that you can build. I went with cement blocks dug into the ground and a frame made of 2x12's. Based on several videos I saw, it is a good idea to raise the greenhouse up a little, as it's short otherwise.

With two people working, we got as far yesterday as getting the foundation in and framing it up minus the door and the windows.

It was very very hot out and not a cloud to be had, so we cooked yesterday doing this. We worked for about 7 hours in the heat of the day, called this a good stopping place and then adjourned until this afternoon.

Today, we got going and after making the door the rest of the work went quickly. Using the clips, the panels got put up very quickly.

The funny thing is, when I bought this greenhouse, I watched a lot of videos on youtube about the greenhouse, and one of them I added to a playlist was one from @daddykirbs .... when I went back and watched it, I couldn't believe what a small wold it is.

I'm looking forward to using this greenhouse in the spring to make my starts!

Sort:  

Very nice. My mother in law once had a green house. l They're very cool.

Thanks. I can't wait to use it!

Nicely done. Looks good.

Thanks!!!

Nice work! I like the base you made for yours. That video of mine has gotten a lot of views and has helped a lot of people put this greenhouse together. I'm so glad it helped you as well. You did a great job!

Thanks. There were definitely several little tips I got from your video that made the assembly smoother, so I highly appreciate your efforts on that video!

I think this greenhouse is just the right size for small gardeners, and I bet lots of people are getting great use out of it. It seems pretty sturdy after tightening everything down and using the roofing screws with the rubber grommets.

This looks like a nice kit!

Well, it's not like you can grow anything on that red clay.
Great for pots and bricks, not so great for gardening.

This is true, which is why I love my raised beds.

I did the opposite. I dug a ditch and filled it with bought dirt.
Of course, it took some effort just to create a 2 foot wide, 1 foot deep and 6 feet long ditch.
I plan on expanding it some in the fall.

Nice! The raised beds were nice this year as when the heavy rains came the aisles in my garden were completely flooded by my plants were high and dry. Given the clay soil you noticed , much of the water runs off and pools in low areas. My entire garden is in a (slight) low area.

I'm not positive and I really won't know until I dig it up, but I think the clay has been helping keep the soil moist in that garden. I also have garden plastic on top to prevent it from drying out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65