Black Eyed Peas - Harvest and StoragesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

I harvested our Black Eyed Peas and wanted to show you the process of putting them up.  This was my first year of doing Black Eyed Peas, so anyone with more experience, I'd love to hear comments and suggestions.

I did the "pole" variety and I'm going to assume there's bush varieties as well.  The bush varieties might be easier, if they work like green beans, you harvest them all at the same time and then they are done.  The pole black eyed peas have been up since late June and as the season went I picked the pea pods.  

I just tossed them in a metal basket that I have in the kitchen area:

Then I shelled them and put them in a pint Ball Canning Jar, Wide mouth.  I use the wide mouth because it works with the vacuum sealer (keep reading...)

Once the jar is full, I take it, and a regular wide mouth lid and vacuum seal it.  These are dry beans, so I think this is a valid method for storing dry beans.  This is NOT valid for any kind of liquid thing that you would store.  Please read up on canning techniques to ensure that you do the right thing to avoid botulism or other diseases or issues.  You need to do the right thing to protect yourself from harm.

So, I use the Food Saver vacuum sealer to vacuum seal the jar.  There is an attachment that is very handy, the Jar Sealer.  I only have the wide mouth version, but apparently they also sell the regular size one, so I'm going to have to add that to my shopping cart.

Once I sealed it up, it should be good to go and store for quite a while.

I wasn't extremely overwhelmed with the amount of black eyed peas I harvested.  I only filled the one pint jar, and these black eyed peas took up 10 feet of space in my trellised garden area.  I would have gotten much more production with tomatoes or maybe cucumbers.  Overall though, it was easy to grow the black eyed peas and was a great experiment.  I definitely want to try the bush style for next season and see how that goes.  It does appear the bush style seeds are available.

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

I didn't know you could vacuum seal jars either!
I'm planning on adding more beans to my garden next year and maybe I'll consider this technique too

@originalworks

Yep, it works great for dry goods.

Pro tip: when using the vacuum dealer you don't put the band on the can just the lid. It doesn't fit right or work with the band on.

Thanks for the tip. I would've probably put band on

Yeah I learned the hard way myself.

Awesome. I didn't know there were vacuum sealers for canning jars. I think I need one too. Thanks for the post and the links.

No problem, they are great for dry goods. I've used the vacuum sealer to seal up things I've put through the dehydrator like apple slices, etc. I've also used it to store pasta for longer term, since this does a much better job of keeping air out which is one of your biggest enemies of fresh food.

Did the pods stain your fingers?

No and they were completely dry. I let them dry on the vine.

Cool. You shooting at GGs today?

We will see. I had the dogs at the vet yesterday for their yearly checkup and shots and I got one constantly throwing up. Rabies shots aren't fun.

If she feels better I'll go but it's not looking good right now. :-(

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @florio to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44