Garden Update - Final Summer Plant Harvest - Freeze ComingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

The weather forecast is calling for freezing temperatures the next two days, so it's time to do my final summer crop harvest. Whatever condition the fruit was this morning, I took it off the vines. I had a lot of peppers of all different types and several types of tomatoes that I collected.

The broccoli plants are looking great. I've been told that broccoli can withstand some cold, and we are getting down to 23 degrees F tomorrow, so hopefully it will be ok.

I've read that if you put your green tomatoes in a box with a banana peel, that will help them turn red. I'm going to try that and see how that works.

It's sad to see my summer plants at the end, but that's ok, spring will be here before you know it. I had such an amazing harvest throughout the season, I really can't complain at all.

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

It is time to start planning for next year's garden. That can be exciting too.

For sure. I've almost got my 5th box filled with the sawdust/sand and will be doing my 6th after that. I seem to make a lot of progress if the weather cooperates in the winter. I hate being out there in 95+degree weather in the summer shoveling and doing hard work. It's easier when its cooler.

I am definitely planning to do several beds of potatoes next season, that crop worked out very nicely this year.

I want to do sweet potatoes in my beds next year. Haven't tried them before...

I've done them, they make this very ground cover greenery. I know some people put them under bushes and it looks like a pretty ground cover you might put in for decoration and no one knows you've got food growing.

One thing to keep in mind is you need to cure sweet potatoes and you don't have to do that with white potatoes.

Thanks for the tip.

Great update post. At 23 degrees I'd probably cover my Broccoli......let us know how it works out!

Looks like my Home Depot has some plastic so I think I'm going to go by there after work and get some and put that over the broccoli. I'd hate to have it damaged.

Keeping our fingers crossed for your Broccoli plants!

Thanks!!!! :-)

I have to ask because of my curiosity... but on the picture with the broccoli, you have an electrical outlet or box, what is that for?

So that box is a hunter watering system box. I've got the watering system completely automated. This saves me son much time!

thank you- checking it out now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65