Garden Update - preparing for planting - February 24th, 2018

in #garden6 years ago

We had some nice weather today, so I worked in the garden today, getting ready for the spring planting.

I wanted to top off my beds from last year. I'm doing the mittleider method and am using a 3 parts sawdust 1 part sand growing medium.

I removed the watering pipes and their supports and then shoveled the mixture using my dump cart.

Once I shoveled and leveled off the growing medium, I replaced the watering pipes and did a watering system test.

The first one I did is bed #3.

I then moved my in the garden greenhouse hoops from row #1 to row #3. Then I did the same thing, removing the watering pipes and filling the box with the growing medium.

Then I replaced the watering pipes and did a watering system test for row #1.

I then made hoops for row #1. I now have two of my beds with the in the garden greenhouse hoops. My long term plan is to have all of my beds that don't have the trellis system to have these hoops. I'm going to try and use the agribon when planting on all my beds this year.

I got about half of bed #2 filled before I got tired and quit. Tomorrow is another day!

How is your garden preparations going? It won't be long before we have plants growing!

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

Looks Great! What's the reason for the elevated water supply lines?Is there a reason the lines couldn't be closer to or on the ground? Do you leave them up for the whole growing season, and operate manually when needed? I'm honestly just curious, I haven't too much experience with outdoor growing, yet.

The water sprays in 3 directions which is why it’s off the ground. It covers about a foot or so.

Yes they stay there all season and are on an auto timer which helps. It is set and forget for the most part. The water is delivered right to the bottom of the plants for the roots

Good to know! Thanks for the reply.

Looks good.

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

You have some amazing growing space. It is getting close to the season now. I can't wait either!!

Thanks Jordan. This will be my 3rd season on this property. When we moved my most important criteria was the garden space. Not my wife’s #1 but she checked all her boxes also.

I’m excited, I’ll probab get potatoes in he ground today.

Sweet setup dude! I can't wait to get my hands dirty this spring.

Yeah it’s really exciting. :-)

That looks awesome! A lot of upfront work, but it'll definitely pay off!

Thanks! It definitely has paid off already. It’s great how much less work it is since getting the infrastructure built.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44