Pressure canning my green beanssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #canning7 years ago

I pressure canned the green bean harvest that I got yesterday.

For non-acidic vegetable canning, you must do the pressure canning and not the water bath canning. I'll go over generally what you do but if you do this yourself you need to go by what the manufacturer says in the manual for your pressure canner. I also used he ball canning book which everyone who does any canning should get.

First up, I take the lids and bands off the cans and wash them all.

Fill the cans about 2/3 full of water and let simmer in the canner.

Washed and cut the green beans to 2" lengths and remove the ends.

Once all the beans were ready, take the cans out of the canner and dump that water, and fill with the beans leaving a 1" headspace

Filled the cans with boiling water (main reason you must get the cans warm first. Boiling water dumped into room temperature glass is how you have a problem with shattering.

Also some canning salt.

I had enough beans for 5 pints. I mixed wide mouth with narrow as that's what I had on hand. You can't can different sizes at the same time like pints and quarts as the canning times are different but as far as I know there's no rule about mixing a batch with wide and narrow mouth jars. As a side note, I originally bought narrow mouth jars but have since gone strictly with the wide mouth for future purchases.

I did put a quart jar in he middle as I was out of additional pints. You want to fill the canner so things don't tip over during the process. Make sure you put water in even the empty ones otherwise they will float.

Following the recipe and instructions on the canner the time for me was 20'minutes at 11psi.

And there we have it, food put up for he winter.

Sort:  

I love home made canned green beans. Have you ever tried dillie beans you basically pickle green beans they are amazing!

I'll have to try that!

The preparation of the winter garden has been interesting and has been completed in every super market

@florio Well done for sticking at it! Love it. Followed..

Good to know this process. 😊

Yep not too hard. You just need to follow the instructions

Thanks for the perfect post! @florio

I still need to add a pressure canner to my gardening and canning supplies.
Your beans look great!

@originalworks

Thanks! I was very scared at first of the pressure canning but saw a presentation about it at a show I went to. If you get the ball canning book and follow the directions,you will have great success! It's an excellent way to preserve your produce from your garden!

Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving https://www.amazon.com/dp/0778801314/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_SuMYzbSHG5FGW

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @florio to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @curie valued at 41.35 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44