The Classics Never Die - The Spencer Davis Group

in #music6 years ago

I have been rather inactive with regards to posting my music series post lately and my gym commitments have been on the back burner. All for a good reason however.
For the last few months I have been looking at houses which has been taking up quite a bit of my time, and last weekend I found a house that I like. So all week I have been running around sorting things out. I expect the next month and a half to be quite busy, as I will have to start preparing to move and organizing everything like electricity and internet just to name a few things.
Once I get past this month and a half this should start getting back to normal.

There is one this that hasn't changed though, and that's my love for the classics. It's Saturday and in about an hour I will be firing up the good ol Saturday night jukebox again.
The classics have really been dominating my work week for the last week, with signing the contract on my new house I have been getting really anxious and having trouble sleeping. there is always a concern I think when you make such a big leap, like buying a house.
It has been really helpful to listen to the classics as they really make me feel good.

I'm going to keep this post relatively short as I have had a pretty big week, riding around Adelaide traveling to the other side of the city looking at the house and meeting up with my mortgage broker.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ The Spencer Davis Group ☠️

 
The Spencer Davis Group are another one of my favorite bands, who have produced some great tracks over their musical career.
Quite a few of their tracks are blues tracks and I think they pulled them off really well.
The Spencer Davis Group come from Birmingham in the UK. They would definitely be most well known for their song Gimme Some Lovin, but have produced a few great tracks.

From Wikipedia:

The Spencer Davis Group was formed in 1963 in Birmingham after Welsh guitarist Spencer Davis encountered vocalist and organist Steve Winwood (then aged 14 and still at school), and his bass playing brother Muff Winwood performing at a pub, the Golden Eagle, as the Muffy Wood Jazz Band. He recruited them and Pete York on drum to form the Rhythm and Blues Quartette, which performed regularly in the city.



src


   

☠️ Gimme Some Lovin ☠️

 
This is by far my favorite track from The Spencer Davis Group.
As soon as you hear the track start up with that beat you just can't help but start tapping your feet. It has such a catchy rhythm and it's no surprise it ranks on The Rolling Stone magazines List of 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.
This song is normally a regular on the Saturday night jukebox.
It's interesting that this song was basically conceived in just a half an hour, some things are just meant to be.
 


   

☠️ Keep on Running ☠️

 
This is another track which I really love from The Spencer Davis Group.
I think the beat is really catchy and has a great rhythm and I love the way they make the electric guitar sound. I love the way the vocals have been done.
Although this song has been done by other artists I think this version from The Spencer Davis Group is the best.
 


   

☠️ I'm a Man ☠️

 
Here is another great track from The Spencer Davis Group.
I love the way the song has been performed which reminds me of the blues brothers the way they have used the organ throughout the track.
 


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Jones
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Mamas & Papas
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Rolling Stones
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Doors
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Blue Swede and Matthew Wilder
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Shirelles
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Bob Dylan
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Ronettes
☠️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Rupert Holmes and Norman Greenbaum
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Kinks
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Animals
☠️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders David Essex and Barrett Strong
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Cat Stevens
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits
☠️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☠️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☠️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☠️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☠️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 
southern-cross-v2.png
upgoats-thevillan.png

Sort:  

You got a 9.03% upvote from @booster courtesy of @thevillan!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29