The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac

in #music6 years ago

Hey hey it's Saturday :P
That means the jukebox will be going on again later on. From 6pm - 2am non stop uninterrupted classics. Hell Yeah.
To be honest it's one of the reasons I really look forward to the weekend.
One thing I really love about the Saturday night jukebox is the well rounded and large collection of music they play.
Every weekend you will hear a different line up.

My Saturday night jukebox playlist is getting really large now, if you have been listening to it I hope you like it :)
You can always pick out your favorites and create your own jukebox, and I highly encourage you to listen to the songs you might not like so much. Sometimes you might not initially like a song, but after listening to it a few times it will really grow on you.
You might also pick up on some lyrics or wordplay that you love which you never heard the first time of listening to it.
This is very true for lots of the classics I love, or sometimes you might need to be in a particular mood to connect with a song which you will go on to love forever.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.

☠️ Fleetwood Mac ☠️

 
I have really enjoyed some of the tracks Fleetwood Mac have produced since I was a kid.
Fleetwood Mac are a British-American band, who have sold a large number of records over their long musical career.
Fleetwood Mac have always been really popular whenever we would have family catchups, often getting played by request.

From Wikipedia:

The band was founded by guitarist Peter Green, drummer Mick Fleetwood and guitarist Jeremy Spencer. They lacked a permanent bass guitarist for the first few months before Green convinced John McVie to join, establishing the first official line-up in time to record their self-titled debut album

It wasn't until later on in the career of Fleetwood Mac that Stevie Nicks joined the group, which gave the group their most well known sounds.



src

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Go Your Own Way ☠️

 
I think this would have to be their most popular song.
I think this song has been done so well, and has a really unique sound to it.

I really love the first verse to this track:

Loving you isn't the right thing to do
How can I ever change things that I feel
If I could maybe I'd give you my world
How can I when you won't take it from me

 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Albatross ☠️

 
This is my favorite track by Fleetwood Mac, which was recorded before Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham joined the group.
It is such a peaceful sounding track.
I really love chucking this on and doing nothing but close my eyes and enjoy.

I love that guitar, sounds really wild.
It's really such a simple track with not too much going on, but I think it works really well.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Rhiannon ☠️

 
Here is another one of the tracks I love from Fleetwood Mac.
This track has that classic Fleetwood Mac sound, and the remarkable voice of Stevie Nicks.

I love that soft easy listening sound of this track, mixed together with that powerful voice.
I never realized this, by this track is inspired by a book.
From Wikipedia:

Nicks discovered Rhiannon in the early '70s through a novel called Triad, by Mary Bartlet Leader. The novel is about a woman named Branwen, who is possessed by another woman named Rhiannon.

After reading that the lyrics make more sense, I though the song was about something completely different.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Gypsy ☠️

 
Here is another fantastic song from Fleetwood Mac.
The voice of Stevie Nicks sounds amazing. I love the way way she sings, which king of reminds me of the way Grace Slick sings White Rabbit.

Gypsy is inspired by the way Stevie Nicks lived before she became famous.
She used to live much like a gypsy, and never had much money. I can relate to this song.
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

Do you prefer the peter greene era more or the stevie nicks era more? Im more of a fan of the raw blues sound of the eaely Peter greene stuff myself. With Stevie nicks they have become a bite more 'mainstream' - although still really good!

One day i might see them live...

Damn as soon as you mentioned Peter Green I realised there is a track I left out from this list which I really love.
Yep I prefer the earlier Fleetwood Mac But love the transformation they underwent when nicks joined them.

This track though omg, how could I forget it

Yeah, I love more the Peter Green era, more bluesy. But they really get success later on.

Hard to pick a selection from this group - there are so many I like. As well as the ones you've listed, I've always liked Black Magic Woman from the early days, and Dreams was very haunting, and Say You Love Me always cheers me up. I remember the Rumours Album was a big thing, it was played at every gathering of my friends then (we learned to make chilli about the same time and that also always featured).

Yeah they had a really good selection of great songs, from early on right through the transformation of the group.
Was really hard to pick these tracks :)

I bet. I like your articles, I think Otis Redding was the first one I picked up. You've some others there I'm looking forward to reading.

I discovered Fleetwood Mac because of Albatross, nit my favorite song is "Oh, Well" that curiosly is from the sessions of "They Play On" (1969)but never had been included in the first editions of the album, only as a single. I think is the most covered song from the band.

Yeah Albatross is amazing, fn love that track. Oh Well is a great track too, has that real 60's feel to it.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 2.64% upvote!
I was summoned by @thevillan. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 14.27% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @thevillan!

You got a 5.47% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @thevillan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32