The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook

in #music6 years ago

It's Saturday and that means in a little over 2 hours the radio station will begin the Saturday night jukebox. 6 Hours of no stop classics that always make my Saturday nights a treat.
It's almost like a ritual of mine that if I'm not going out on a Saturday night the jukebox always gets played.
In many cases I would rather spend my Saturday nights at home or in the gym just so I can listen in to my favorite radio station.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

It's feedback like this which really motivates me to do this series.
I have been listening to the classics for most of my life, and although I didn't grow up through the 50's, 60's and 70's it kind of feels like I have thanks to the Saturday night jukebox.
I have a unique taste in music which is really broad, from epic music to hip hop to jazz and everything in between.
I have always said:

There is no such thing as bad music
Just bad artists who make music

So let me bring to you another couple of tracks I really like.

☠️ Dr Hook ☠️

 
Dr Hook is another one of those artists who gets played regularly on the Saturday night jukebox.
Dr Hook is an American rock band who were formed in New Jersey.
Some of their music is more southern sounding rock which I also really like, and also falls under soft rock.

I don't hear too much about Dr Hook, I guess they are not one of those big name bands but they brought out a few really good tracks.



src

steemit-hr.png

☠️ When Your in Love with a Beautiful Woman ☠️

 
I really love this track by Dr Hook, and is what initially made me take more of an interest in Dr Hook.
This song is about whats it's like to be in love with a beautiful woman, and everything he says is so true.
I just the opposite is true for women, when they are in love with a beautiful man.

I really love the beat to this track which follows the same rhythm as the title of the track, so I just bop along to it.
I think this is by far their best track, never get sick of it.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Cover of the Rolling Stone ☠️

 
The Cover of the Rolling Stone is another track I also love from Dr Hook.
This track has that real southern feel to it which I love.

I think this track has been done really well, they are talking about getting on the cover of the Rolling Stone which is a famous rock n roll magazine.
I also really like the guitar work they do throughout the track.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ The Last Morning ☠️

 
Here is another track I really like from Dr Hook.
This track relates a lot to me, as he is talking about heading back home to the country from the city life.
I will be playing this song loud when it's my turn to return to the country.

The lyrics are quite good, I love the way it was written.
I really love this verse:

This is the last morning that I drink my coffee standing up
Smile and speak to strangers who just turn and walk away
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Sexy Eyes ☠️

 
I really love this track from Dr Hook also.
This is probably one of their songs that you might have heard, along with in love with a beautiful woman.
It has that soft rock feel to it and that 70's sound.

I think we can all relate to this track, when you look at someone with gorgeous eyes and you just fall in love with that person.
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits. I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".
Cover of the Rolling Stone - It's a wonderful fun song which I love - a full satire on the music industry back in the 60's and early 70's.

And after the song became a hit, the Rolling Stone magazine, in fun, spoofed the band by putting their cartoon caricature on the cover of the magazine and called them the "What's-Their-Names Make the Cover". For every other band they would put their photograph and name. So a good time was had by all.

Yeah I didn't think they were a huge name.
We have a radio station here in Adelaide which plays all the classics and Dr Hook's Beautiful Woman gets played sometimes.

I never realized that trivia about the Cover of the Rolling Stone song.
That's pretty cool that they did the cover like that :)

Thank you so much for great music shareing,..

This is fantastic! I just thought about them and learned to play Storms Never Last the other night... My Mom used to listen to them..Alot. I recognize how much their style influenced my own songwriting style.

Oh Yeah that's a good song too :)

Great. but iam rather young...usually listen to izzy stradlin ju ju hound. Good sharing

great article and wonderfull photography.I like it.upvote + resteemed by @lovelu3650

Nice classics

its a very good post for me..
i love music very mush..
thanks for this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97