The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits

in #music6 years ago

It's funny how we change throughout the years of our lives.
When I was a teenager I was right into my hip hop, particularly aussie hip hop. You were almost certain to catch me listening to hip hop unless I was at work.
During work I liked to listen to 60's and 70's with my uncle out on the building site.
But when I wasn't working or if I was out at a party I would have to fight the crowd to chuck on me aussie hip hop.
Back when I was a teenager aussie hip hop wasn't very popular.

As the years progressed my taste in music slowly started to change. I found myself not as interested in hip hop. Yet my craving for old school music really grew.
I think this in part was because of the bull shit that would quite often come with the hip hop scene, that mixed in with quitting drinking led me away from hip hop.
I found myself unable to deal with drunk people once I quite drinking.
So I began listening to much more of the classics but also 20's, 30's 40's 50's, jazz and all the other good stuff.
The Saturday night juke box would go on pretty much every weekend as opposed to when I couldn't be stuffed going out on a Saturday night.
Now here I am pumping the classics most of the time and I can't remember the last time I listened to a hip hop track lol.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ Dire Straits ☠️

 
For me dire straits are one of my favorite groups. Some of their tracks are just amazing.
Dire Straits were one of the great rock groups to come out of the UK. They were formed by Mark Knopfler, David Knopfler, John Illsley and Pick Withers.

I always remember Dire Straits from their famous song Sultans of Swing, as this was the first track of theirs I heard. I love Dire Straits because of their unique sound. The group mix in a nice blend of jazz, rock, folk and blues.

Dire Straits have won a large range of awards, they have also been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The list of hits will make it hard for me to pick out a couple of favorites.



src


   

☠️ Your Latest Trick ☠️

 
This would have been one of the later tracks I discovered from Dire Straits. Mainly because radio stations don't really play it I guess because of it's really jazzy sound.
But I think this is their best track, absolutely love it.

That sax by Chris White sounds just divine, and goes together with the song so well. A really jazzy number that sounds so good.
I really love the lyrics to this track too.

"You played robbery with insolence
And I played the blues in twelve bars down Lover's Lane
And you never did have the inteligence to use
The twelve keys hanging off my chain"


   

☠️ Brothers in Arms ☠️

 
I really love this track by Dire Straits.
This would easily have to be my second favorite track of theirs. That guitar work by Mark Knopfler is remarkable.

The thing I really love about this track though is the lyrics.
They are so deep and powerful. I always think about the wars that have raged over the years, this song always makes me sit down and remember the great people who fought for us and gave their lives.
Honestly these lyrics give me chills some times.

"Now the sun's gone to hell and
The moon's riding high
Let me bid you farewell
Every man has to die"


   

☠️ Sultans of Swing ☠️

 
How can you not love this track, another one of the greats.
My uncle used to love this track so he would usually have it playing on his record player when I went to see him as a kid.

This track has a real jazzy feel to it which I love, you really can't help but bop along to it.
I really love the guitar work in this track too.
Listening to this song and realizing that he is singing about a jazz band makes you realize where a lot of the influences come from with their music.


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thanks you very much @illuminati-inc really appreciate the upvotes. I'm glad you like my posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69