The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues

in #music6 years ago

My love for the classics really never tires, you can listen to them over and over again and they will never wear out their welcome.
It has kind of become like my church the Saturday night jukebox, and not long after it starts I switch it on and go into my own world.
I usually like going to the gym and listening to the Saturday night jukebox. I find the combination of working out which makes you feel good and listening to such great music really puts me on cloud nine.
Although I'm in lots of pain from my injuries I still feel really good, but I have notices when the endorphins are released the pain does subside by at least 50%. It's amazing the power of the mind.

In a way I kind of get to taste why it must have been like living in the 60's and 70's, as the radio station I listen to play nothing but the classics.
It's good because that's what it must have been like back then, except it would have been all the big name radio stations playing them. Also everywhere you went they would have been playing too, although usually when I'm out and about I don't get to hear them. Except for when I get lunch at work, this cute little Thai couple have my radio station playing. So I love eating there :)

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ Tommy Roe ☠️

 
I'm not the biggest fan of Tommy Roe, I just don't really get into most of his tracks but Dizzy is a fantastic track. So he makes my one hit wonders for this weeks "The Classics Never Die" series.

Tommy Roe is an American music singer and songwriter from Atlanta, Georgia.
He is not the most well known artist, as he only had a couple of popular hits over his career. His hit song Dizzy gets played quite often on the Saturday night jukebox.

From Wikipedia:

Although his style of music declined in popularity with the 1970s mass market, Roe maintained a following and continued to perform at a variety of concert venues, sometimes with 1960s nostalgia rock and rollers such as Freddy Cannon and Bobby Vee. In 1986, Roe was inducted into the Georgia Music Hall of Fame, and his pioneering contribution to the genre has been recognized by the Rockabilly Hall of Fame.



src

💀 Dizzy

 
This is the song Dizzy by Tommy Roe, I love this track and think it's one of the classics. Although it's the only track by Tommy Roe I actually love.
I don't mind Sheila from Tommy Roe, but it's not like I get a craving to search for it in Youtube like I do with Dizzy.
 


   

☠️ The Vogues ☠️

 
I'm not the biggest fan of The Vogues, some of there tracks are ok but they are not something I will go out of my way to listen to, however the track Turn Around Look At Me is fantastic so The Vogues make the list of one hit wonders for me.

The Vogues are an American band from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
From Wikipedia:

The group, originally named the Val-Aires, formed in 1958 at Turtle Creek High School. They signed with Pittsburgh manager Elmer Willet, who produced their first recording release "Which One Will It Be/Launie My Love".

The Song Turn Around Look at Me was used in the movie Final Destination 3, which was a good movie and really suited that song.
The Vogues are most well known for their track Turn Around Look at Me, but are also known for a couple of other tracks like Five O'Clock World.
 



src

💀 Turn Around Look at Me

 
This song is actually a remake of the original song by Glen Campbell. Although this version by The Vogues is a really good sounding version.
I never hear this song played on the Saturday night jukebox, but I will often listen to it on youtube.
 


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

Nice songs from somewhat obscure singers/groups. Yes, it feels good to relive the fond memories of the past.

Yeah I fell not many people would know about Tommy Roe, but Dizzy is amazing love it.
The Vogues on the other hand, anyone who has watched final destination 3 should recognize that song

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34