The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders David Essex and Barrett Strong

in #music6 years ago

Well last night was a real treat with the Saturday night jukebox yet again.
I got to the gym and cranked it up while I was there. They always play such a well rounded selection of music.
I ended up staying up much later than usual playing the jukebox.

I think listening to the classics really helps me as a person. I have been through a lot and had a pretty rough life, so it's easy to be angry.
Yet I really think listening to the classics really helps me with that anger management. The music is so easy listening and soothing for the soul, unlike most of the stuff that comes out these days.
I think there is a big difference between the classics and music that comes out in today's day and age. When you look at video clips that were made for the classics they are very realistic. Usually the classics are just video clips of the band playing.
This is because the band was actually talented and people would want to see the band perform to admire their skills as artists.

Now compare that to the video clips of music that comes out now days. Most of the video clips are of some girl flashing her kit or waving her ass in your face.
For the guys they are usually driving some really expensive car that's doing burnouts or some shit like that, or they are wearing more gold than Nevill Bloody Bartos.
The difference is quite striking and how on earth is that sort of thing meant to make you feel good, especially in cases like mine where I was involved in a really horrific accident.
I think this is the reason why I hate most of the shit that comes out these days.

Thank god for the classics, real music never dies.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ David Essex ☠️

 
David Essex is one of those people I class as a one hit wonder, most of his music I just don't really enjoy.
David Essex is a English singer and actor who had a few hits. To be honest I really don't know too much about David Essex.

From wikipedia:

Essex was born in Plaistow, Essex (now Greater London). His father, Albert, was an East End docker and his mother, Olive (née Kemp), was a self-taught pianist and an Irish Traveller, descended from Romany Gypsies.[2] His grandfather, Thomas Kemp, was nicknamed "Philimore", which was the anglicised version of "Philly Mor" – being Irish for "Big Philly".

I don't mind his song Hold Me Close but it's not really a song I will go out of my way to listen to.



src

☠️ Rock On by David Essex ☠️

 
I really love this track by David Essex and it has long been one of my favorites.
The track has such a unique sound to it, and I think it goes together with partying so well.
That rhythm of the bass guitar is so good.

This is really the only track from David Essex I will go out of my way to listen to. I really like the way they used this track in the movie The Devils Rejects, still one of my favorite movies.
 


   

☠️ Barrett Strong ☠️

 
Barrett Strong is another one of those one hit wonders.
Barrett Strong is an American singer/songwriter who comes from Mississippi. I actually never realized this, but Strong wrote lyrics for The Temptations.
Barrett was also the original singer/songwriter for the song Money That's What I Want.

From Wikipedia:

Strong was among the first artists signed to Berry Gordy's fledging label, Tamla Records, and was the performer on the company's first hit, "Money (That's What I Want)", which reached No. 2 US R&B in 1960. The single was originally released on Tamla, Motown's first label, but was then leased to the Anna label as it was getting airplay, and it was on the Anna label that it was a hit. It sold over one million copies, and was awarded a gold disc by the RIAA.

I don't mind some of his other songs by I wont go out of my way to chuck them on, but if they do get played I still enjoy them they just don't make me go WOW.



src

☠️ Money, That's What I Want by Barrett Strong ☠️

 
This is another one of my favorite tracks, and Barrett Strong was the original artist for this track.
This song has been performed by a number of other artists, but I still love the original version from Barrett.

This track has a real late 50's feel to it, which is one of the reasons why I prefer it over other versions performed by other artists.
He has a really good voice and pulls of this track really well.
I think the use of the instruments sounds really good in their raw form.
 


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Cat Stevens
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

You got a 3.80% upvote from @upme thanks to @thevillan! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.70% upvote!
I was summoned by @thevillan. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64