The Classics Never Die - Bowie

in #music7 years ago

It never ceases to amaze me how the classics just go on forever, I never seem to get sick of them.

As a youngster growing up in the 80's I was brought up on the classics, so it's no surprise that they are very nostalgic for me.

This week I will be talking about David Bowie.
Bowie for me was a truly great artist, I always love the quirky nature Bowie brings to his music which suits my somewhat quirky nature.
His music I more slowly paced, and I find it really soothing to listen to after a tough days work.
Aw well and a song writer Bowie was also an actor although it's his music which I love.

☠️ Space Oddity ☠️

One of my all time favorite songs would have to be space oddity.
It reminds me of our destiny to reach to the stars, by our exploration of the moon. It also sparks my imagination and makes me think about what might be possible in years to come, will man be walking on mars just as he did the moon.

☠️ Changes ☠️

Another one of my favorite songs is changes.
Often when I'm listening to this song, I sit back and think about how my life has changed over the years. Sometimes for the better and sometimes for the worst.
We all go through changes throughout our lives, so I think everyone can relate to this song.

☠️ Heroes ☠️

Heroes is one of those songs which just seems to lift me up, even when I'm in a bad mood.
This song is a good reminder of the good in this world.
There are many different heroes in this world, some their courage is just amazing. So it's good to stop once in a while and remember that.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. I grew up with David Bowie' music on my ears. A superb songwriter and artist. So many good songs, but if I should pick one favorite it must be one from the album Heroes: Let's dance.

If you say run I'll run with you And if you say hide We'll hide Because my love for you Would break my heart in two If you should fall into my arms And tremble like a flower

No worries, yeah Bowie was great. Gee wizz I forgot all about that song, it is a good one :)

That's a beautiful quote!

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.
I enjoyed all three songs. The quirkyness of the first one put me in a special mood.

I found a favorite quote in the second one:

But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They're quite aware of what they're going through

oh, I remember well when I was a teenager and adults (sometimes arrogantly) would preach words of wisdom and I would think that they just don't understand me. Now that I'm an adult I of course try to give similar advise to youths (hopefully not arrogantly though) that usually falls to deaf ears of course.

I liked Changes the most. This one quote says so incredibly much.

I, I wish you could swim
Like dolphins, lile dolphins could swim

That's a whole book in two lines right there.

Thank you for introducing me to this artist.

Thanks :)
I'm glad you enjoyed them and wow you never listened to Bowie before D:

The first one is very unique hey, just one of those songs you either like or hate but it's great to sing to when drinking :)

Yeah changes is amazing hey, that quote is amazing I love it too. I was the same when I was young too, but now I'm older and wiser I see why. but the arrogant way of explaining things to the youth never works. You need to relate to them and then give advice they will accept.

I will be posting more of my favorite artists as I go, this is exactly why I want to do this. If I can introduce someone to something great it really makes my day as I know the pleasure you will get from listening to these songs :)

Sharing music that you love with others is very powerful indeed. I'm looking forward to more of this from you.

Nice profile on Bowie. One of his songs I always liked was called "My Death". So dark and introspective. here's a performance below!

Thanks, hmm this song doesn't ring a bell but I will give it a listen tomorrow :)
I'm sure when I hear it I'll be like how the heck did I forget the name of that lol
Cheers

True legend - thanks for sharing

He was great hey. RIP Bowie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32