The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals

in #music6 years ago

It's Friday night which means tomorrow night the Saturday night jukebox will be on again.
The weather here in Adelaide South Australia is pretty dismal outside and I really don't think there is any better way to spend a shitty Saturday night then to listen in to the jukebox and pour up a few rums. I don't drink very often but tomorrow night I'm having a few drinks, stuff it.

For this part of my "the classics never die" series I would like to share a couple of female groups that I always enjoy. I really enjoy female vocals just as much as male vocals.
There is something soothing about female vocals :)

So lets look at a few tracks I really like.

☠️ The Crystals ☠️

 
The crystals are a female vocal group and had long been regarded as one of the defining groups for the girl group era in the early 60's.
They have a couple of tracks I really like, which are regulars in the jukebox.

Then He Kissed Me

I really like this track performed by The Crystals.
I think is has a really good beat to it, and the way it has been sung sound really good too.
This song is full of heart and soul, and gives me a good insight into my feminine side which I think is important of any man to have.
I learned from a wise man that it makes you a real man.
 

Da Doo Ron Ron

I also really like this track from The Crystals.
It has a great rhythm to it and once again is not lacking the heart and soul music of this era had.
 


 
steemit-hr.png

☠️ The Exciters ☠️

 
The Exciters were originally a girl group, but later on added a male vocalist.
The Exciters only had a couple of songs I like, but they are a couple of really great tracks. The Exciters are another group who always usually get played in the Saturday night jukebox.

Tell Him

 
This track sound great I really love the way it has been produced.
It has a really catchy beat to it, and the way it has been sung is amazing. She has a really great voice.
The use of the backing singers really goes well also.
 

Do Wah Diddy

 
I really like this track also, maybe solely because I love the Mann Fred Mann version of this track. It's really quite different from that version though.
Her voice is great and the song is really catchy.
 

Sort:  

I don't know how I missed commenting on this last week. Those are 2 of my favorite girl groups (all from the NYC Metro area)
"Tell Him" by The Exciters" and "And Then He Kissed Me" by The Crystals are 2 of the all-time greatest R&R songs. They have been covered many times and also used in movies.

"And Then He Kissed Me" was used in an epic scene in the movie Goodfellas (an great off-beat, sort of funny mob movie).

They are amazing aren't they, I love the lead singers voice from the crystals, I think that's Barbara but not sure.
These two tracks are normally always played on the jukebox, and the crystals came on last night while I was in the gym.

I still haven't seeen the goodfellas but now you have given me a reason to watch it :)
Cheers

La La Brooks is the lead singer of the Crystals. Then He Kissed Me is their most famous song.

Other trivia: He's a Rebel was the Crystals only #1 hit but.....the Crystals didn't really sing it. Darlene Love and the Blossoms sang the song but Phil Specter labeled it as from the Crystals because they were more well known. Only in recent years did Darlene Love get credit for that song and she was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Ahh so she is the lead singer, yeah I wasn't sure about that one.
Didn't realize that about he's a rebel either. I thought it was their song.

I'm going to have to check out Darlene Love :)

Darlene Love - she didn't have many hits of her own but she sang back-up to many of the famous groups at the time. Everybody loved her. More recently she's been performing in her 60's and 70's and can still sing. This is a great performance with Bruce Springsteen who had her sing on a number of his shows. (I love youtube as you can catch all of these great performances. ) Rock and Roll at its best.

Oh ok I have probably listened to her many times and not even realised it.
That song it great, another track they play a lot on the jukebox :)

I used to love 'tell him' by the Exciters. Another song by an all girl band i really loved was 'Viva forever' by Spice Girls

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34