The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel

in #music6 years ago

When ever I listen to the classics from the 50's, 60's and 70's it always makes me feel good. This is really noticable when I'm driving home.
Here in Adelaide we have a radio station which plays all the great music from these era's, so my radio is permanently tuned in.
It's amazing I find when I'm driving home, although it takes me the best part of an hour to get home I really don't mind. I get to enjoy some really great tracks. If I wasn't listening to the classics I just can't wait to get home.
I think people who are caught speeding too often should have to listen to the classics, and have no choice in the matter lol.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.

Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.

☠️ Simon & Garfunkel ☠️

 
Simon & Garfunkel were an American duo. Paul Simon was the singer/songwriter of the duo and Art Garfunkel was a singer.
They were really popular in the 1960's.
The duo comes from The Bronx, Queens, New York and they met in elementary school.
The pair learned to sing together and harmonize their melodies during their elementary years, then after parting ways the duo got back together.
They then went on to record a number of hits under Columbia Records.
 



src

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Simon & Garfunkel - Homeward Bound ☠️

 
I really love this track.
This song quite often comes on in the car on the way home when I'm listening to the radio. But for me this song reminds me of where my heart lies.
I always long to head back to the country, I much prefer it over city life. This song instantly makes me dream about the day I return back to the country and also reminds me of where I ultimately want to get to.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Simon & Garfunkel - The Sound of Silence ☠️

 
I really love this track too.
This track basically sums up what it's like for me to go through life after having my accident.
There is always that darkness which one can't describe, you really have to experience it for yourself. While I may seem like life is going ok for me, the darkness is always there with me. I just bury it and try to not let it escape.
You can never seem to get rid of the darkness, and it's always there to greet you.
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Simon & Garfunkel - Mrs. Robinson ☠️

 
Here is an absolute classic from Simon & Garfunkel.
I really love how they used this track in the first American Pie movie. Stiffler's Mum, MILF lol.
I think all of us blokes have had a friend with a really hot mum, this song always reminds me of her :)
 

steemit-hr.png

☠️ Simon & Garfunkel - The Boxer ☠️

 
Here is another great song from Simon & Garfunkel.
For a song which which is rather somber I find this song really enjoyable, but maybe it just suits the dark side of me.
These lyrics are amazing:

"Asking only workman's wages
I come looking for a job
But I get no offers
Just a come-on from the whores
On Seventh Avenue
I do declare
There were times when I was so lonesome
I took some comfort there"
 

steemit-hr.png

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

thank you friend with this flash-back you brought me back to 45 years ago, when I listened to them in the car with my father lol

@thevillan - you've now chosen rock and roll Royalty, IMHO. Simon and Garfunkel were one of my favorite groups growing up. I saw them in concert at my college in the 60's and they were fantastic.

They are in the Rock and roll Hall of Fame and the Grammy Hall of Fame. Paul Simon is in the Songwriters Hall of Fame. They, as a group and then Paul Simon by himself have won numerous grammy, emmy, and other awards.

Sounds of Silence is beautiful. They made so many great songs. One more to add to your list - Bridge Over Troubled Waters - which won Song of the Year award.
Thanks for the beautiful songs.

Haha I thought you might like Simon & Garfunkel :)
They are an amazing duo, have loved them since I was a kid.
It was tough to pick my favorite songs, I also really like Cecilia always love bopping along to that one too

Yes to Cecilia. I think it was a real-life experience for Paul :-) .....as were many of his songs. And other great songwriters back then.

nice post.. upvoted n followed u

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

It's true the classics never die, excellent post, greetings!

You got a 3.03% upvote from @upme thanks to @thevillan! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34