The Classics Never Die - Cat Stevens

in #music6 years ago

For a guy who didn't grow up in the 60's and 70's, I think I'm really knowledgeable when it comes to good classic music.
I may not have grown up in those era's but have been listening to music from those era's for all my life, so I do have a vast collection of music which I regularly listen to.

Honestly I don't understand why people don't listen to them more regularly.
It's a real shame the direction music has taken in recent years, like an advert I saw just a few minutes ago on youtube. It was for some new singer who is coming out and trying to promote her stuff. It was garbage.
She had a real synthesized voice and you can't even understand what she was saying. Some of you may have seen the ad I'm talking about, absolute refuse.
I mean I think I'm still fairly hip, but come on.

Anyway thankfully it was only an ad, so it wasn't on for long. On the other hand the classics now that's music.
I can listen to them all day every day and never seem to get sick of them.
Growing up as a 90's kid the classics were one of my favorite styles of music to listen to. I did enjoy watching rage but would much prefer to listen to the Saturday night jukebox.
I was never the type of person to listen to music which I didn't enjoy, so just because someone else though a song was cool didn't mean I would like it. I think life was much more enjoyable this way.
It's funny how some people turn their nose up at a good old school tune, but if a singer comes out and performs it on American Idol all of a sudden they like it.

The classics never die, but they can be forgotten and sometimes your introduced to something you absolutely love.
I have had some interesting feed back in this series.
Here is some feedback I received from @mightpossibly

That's some nice songs!
I've never listened to a single David Bowie song before - these were some solid recommendations.

I have also received lots of great feed back, and interesting trivia from @mgood who is very knowledgeable on the classics I love.

The group, Dr Hook and the Medicine Show, wasn't very well known but they came out with a few hits.
I'm surprised they play their songs "down under".

Here is some feed back from @cheese4ead about my Pink Floyd post.

You know you won my vote at P!! 😂
Meddle was my choice for my most influential album in my challenge but Wish You Were Here is my favourite closely followed by Dark side of the moon.
The Wall freaks me out and Roger Waters lyrics are a little depressing. I still think its special though and I remember being transfixed on the artwork too. Comfortably Numb is technically an 80's track too!! Run Like Hell is a cool live track.
Awesome. Thanks @thevillan

So lets continue on with my series, I want to share another couple of my favorite tracks.



☠️ Cat Stevens ☠️

 
Cat Stevens was one of my favorite performers when I was growing up as a kid. My uncle was a big fan of his music so naturally I really grew to enjoy it.
Cat Stevens is a British singer/songwriter and a multi instrumentalist who has won a number of awards.
He has a rather unique musical style which brings together a mix of pop, folk and rock.

He has composed a range of songs which I really love, and you would surely know him from his song Father and Son.
You may also know him from some of his other famous songs like Wild World, Moonshadow or Another Saturday Night which is my favorite song of his.
Honestly he has way too many good songs for me to list here, so I recommend you check him out.
From Wikipedia:

Steven Georgiou, born on 21 July 1948 in the Marylebone area of London,[17] was the youngest child of a Greek Cypriot father, Stavros Georgiou (1900–1978),[18] and a Swedish mother, Ingrid Wickman (1915–1989).[19] He had an older sister, Anita (b. 1937), and a brother, David Gordon.[17] The family lived above the Moulin Rouge, a restaurant that his parents operated on the north end of Shaftesbury Avenue which was a short walk from Piccadilly Circus in the Soho theatre district of London.



src


   

☠️ Another Saturday Night ☠️

 
This would have to be my favorite song from Cat Stevens.
I think it has an excellent rhythm and has been composed really well. The instruments sound really good together and is well rounded.
I really love those lyrics too.
Because I'm single atm I can really relate to this song, so I love it when they play it on the Saturday night jukebox.
 


   

☠️ Where do the Children Play ☠️

 
I really love this track by Cat Stevens.
I love the soft slower pace that this track has and the acoustic guitar sounds really good.
Cat Stevens had a really good voice too.
The lyrics to this track are awesome too, I really love this verse. He was definitely a hippy at heart.

"Well you roll on roads over fresh green grass
For your lorry loads pumping petrol gas
And you make them long, and you make them tough
But they just go on and on, and it seems that you can't get off"


   

☠️ Peace Train ☠️

 
I really love this track from Cat Stevens.
It has that unique sound which Cat Stevens was so good at producing, which is why I love his music so much.
I really love what this song is about too, which is all about world peace and the hope that one day we will all be riding the peace train :)
Songs like this really put me in a happy mood.
 


   

☠️ Wild World ☠️

 
Here is another fantastic track by Cat Stevens.
This track really reminds me of the relationships which have broken my heart.
The sound this track has is just remarkable, that combination of the voice of Cat Stevens with that folk sound of the instruments.
What a musician.
These lyrics though are so good:

"You know I've seen a lot of what the world can do
And it's breaking my heart in two
Cause I never want to see you sad girl
Don't be a bad girl"


   

I have added these tracks into Villans Saturday Night jukebox Mix for you all :)

 

steemit-dragon-banner.png

☠️☠️☠️☠️ Related Posts ☠️☠️☠️☠️

 
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dire Straits
☣️ The Classics Never Die - One Hit Wonders Tommy Roe and The Vogues
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Searchers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Fleetwood Mac
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Mixtures
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Monkees
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Elton John
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Simon & Garfunkel
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Pink Floyd
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Black Sabbath
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Tom Petty
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Daddy Cool
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Righteous Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Foundations
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Toto
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Tops
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Dr Hook
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Nazareth
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Beach Boys
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Lynard Skynard
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Some Classic Girl Groups - The Exciters and The Crystals
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bobby Vee
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Dave Clarke Five
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Gary Puckett and The Union Gap, The Honeycombs, The Walker Brothers
☣️ The Classics Never Die - T. REX
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Eagles
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Drifters
☣️ The Classics Never Die - The Four Seasons
☣️ The Classics Never Die - Bowie
☣️ The Classics Never Die - ELO
 

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

I feel you friend, I feel you!!!, the Classics never die, but they can be forgotten indeed. I don't understand this new generation of music, it makes me want to rip my ears off. Lack of lirics, lack of content, lack of consistency... uggghhh!!!!, just because it appears on some bought reality show doesn't make it better!!!!

I'm 100% behind dudes like you who bring these jewels back to life in these modern times.

YEah it's shocking some of the stuff that comes out these days. Makes me sad sometimes.

Screenshot_20180802-162412.pngScreenshot_20180802-162420.pngScreenshot_20180802-162453.png i understand ur article...i resteemed

Congratulations @thevillan! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @thevillan! This is just to let you know that...

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 21th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

You can find us on Discord -:

https://discord.gg/cbcDNK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71