Garden update - Planting Broccoli (maybe too late?)

in #garden5 years ago

Hi Steemit friends!

I am way late on planting some broccoli, but I'm giving it a shot this year.

According to NC State (https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:5QbhUalfh9cJ:https://content.ces.ncsu.edu/growing-a-fall-vegetable-garden+&cd=14&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us), August 15th is when I should be planting my broccoli crop. I ended up planting it yesterday, October 10th.

I went by the local plant store and they still had a lot of broccoli (and other fall crop plants) out, so I let them know it's way late according to the "authorities" and that I'd be taking a chance on buying these plants now.

They agreed, so they let me have buy one flat, get one free. I thought that was fair, so I got the two flats.

IMG_2618.JPG

I had cleaned up a couple of my beds, #1 and #3... I was going to fill them up with some of the sawdust, but I wanted to immediately plant these, and decided to just use the soil medium that was still in there and go with that.

IMG_5786.JPG

IMG_5787.JPG

I did put up some agribon (https://amzn.to/2B4un1g) on the in the garden greenhouse hoops, so maybe that will help.

I'll do more posts as we progress to share if I was too late or not. We shall see!

See my other Gardening and Homesteading Posts

I do the Mittleider Method, see my Mittleider Gardening Posts

I also have tried the Square Foot Gardening Method

The Harbor Freight 6x8 Greenhouse

Various Techniques and Equipment

Harvesting Posts/General Updates


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65