One photo every day: Dandelion (lat. Taraxacum) seedball (342/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hola! :)

Today, as I was on my way to the grocery to buy the boys some ice cream, I stopped in front of our parking lot and saw a lot of back-lit dandelions and other flowers. I decided I'd take a few photos before leaving. They were excellent. I liked how the dark background sort of blended away.

But when I came back and saw Leo and Miro playing with the dandelions, blowing their seeds away I got an idea: Why wouldn't I take the same back-lit photo with flying dandelion seeds as a decoration.


Pretty nice

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
300 mm
ƒ/8
1/500
Dual-ISO 100+200

I'm not sure I am content with the result, but that's the best I got today. I just know I will be trying this again in the near future. :)

Here are some other photos I shot this evening:


balls of light

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
300 mm
ƒ/9
1/500
Dual-ISO 100+200


Field of dandelion seedballs

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
300 mm
ƒ/8
1/500
Dual-ISO 100+200

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
300 mm
ƒ/10
1/500
Dual-ISO 100+200

And today morning, since there are quite many mallards here at any time of year, I shot these fellows:

Camera
body:
Lens:
Focal
length:
F
Exp:
ISO
Canon EOS 550D
Canon EF 75-300mm
ƒ/4-5.6
170 mm
ƒ/8
1/320
Dual-ISO 100+1600

I hope you liked these photos! I'll be back with more fresh photos tomorrow! :)

P.S. So much for using the Super Carenars today... I'll leave the long zoom lens home tomorrow and see what I can come up with with those age old manual primes.



[Previous post: Some mallards...]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:












Guess who? (335/365)
Little thrush gone astray from its nest (336/365)
Someone wanted to pose for my camera... (337/365)
Naakka :: Jackdaw (Corvus monedula) (338/365)
Naurulokki :: Black headed gull (339/365)
Explosive flower power (340/365)
More flowers (341/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

The dandelions look great but I can’t stop staring at the birds photo.. I can’t even explain why but It’s drawing you in. Amazing work once again! :)

The photos turned out fine again!

By the way, I've been considering buying a macro lens that I can attach to my phone. Should I go for the cheapest ones? Or be prepared to spend a little? Do you have experience with such lenses?

I got these with a cheap plastic lens from China
https://steemit.com/macrophotography/@dromzz/flowers-and-lambos
https://steemit.com/macrophotography/@dromzz/lava-rocks-and-rainbows

It's hard to get anything into focus but I think that lens still works decently enough. I got a lens kit for 3 dollars and for that price it's amazing. I don't think that really expensive lenses for a phone are worth it. I also tried fisheye and one another lens but those weren't so good. But if you want the macro lens I definitely recommend it.

Can you give me pointers to where you can order that lens kit?

I think I bought this. You can find these from any Chinese stores.

Thanks!

My only experience with lenses on my phone is the old loupe I took with me when I moved away from home. I've taped it on my phone or my tablet several times. I guess any glass lens is good. I have no experience with plastic lenses, but I would guess they can go bad faster and more easily than ones made from glass.

I would be happy if I can obtain this shape in my laboratory.

Though we look at thesame thing, but we see a different thing.

We do have dandelion seeds flying around the lawns of people who haven’t mowed it yet and on open grass fields.
There’s a lot of things that can be done with dandelions. Teas, jelly, vinegar etc

It will be difficult to catch those little details, behind the workshop where I worked there is a huge ceiba pentandra tree and every year releases a ton of fiber, at the beginning it's cool to see all the air fulfill with all that fiber but then you have to clean and believe me it gets everywhere that fiber is very light, well the point is a smartphone suck to catch that kind of little thing in the air.

I like your subheading "balls of light".

When we look to the night firmament, what we see could be a star, but it could also be an entire Universe. All is relative, nothing absolute. These dandelion balls could very well be a Universe with millions of galaxies within it. Or: planet Earth and this entire Universe could be a dandelion in another Universe ;)

Hello friend @ gamer00, the photos have nothing wrong, but it is quite difficult to capture the dandelion seeds flying as you wish. The last photo of the many mallards stayed in the luxury

Yes I noticed... I got a few photos where they were flying around, but they were still all out of focus. I was hoping some of them would end in focus. I think I'll try it again some day with a deeper field of focus (>F11) and faster shutter. But I guess I will need more light to do that, so I must try it in full daylight shooting towards shade, and with an assistant. I might even try it with a flash. Maybe I can recruit the boys again.

Friend, the photos are great, for the detail as you see the photos of the dandelions.
But you reminded me of our friend Markku who, in a previous publication, was talking about the work that he used to remove those plants from his garden until he took a picture of a tool, which the plant takes out from the root

All captures are awesome . Ducks color is very nice

awesome sir honestly every time when i see your photographs just speechless.level 👌❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88