One photo every day: Naakka :: Jackdaw (Corvus monedula) (338/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hey!

I just got home from walking with Ninnu the puppy. Before going to bed I'm going to post today's photo.

This jackdaw fancied some ice cream.

When visiting the Laune family park with Miro, we sat down in a café to have some refreshments, as the day was very warm and we didn't want to fight off dehydration.

While there, a jackdaw landed just next to Miro on the bench, but he didn't notice. Even I was a bit too slow to snap a photo as it was almost at arms reach, before flying off to the other table.

Someone had left their ice cream in the table and this jackdaw took a taster. I got a perfect opportunity to shoot a photo after all.


"Nom nom!"

Camera body
Canon EOS 550D
Lens
Canon EF 75-300mm ƒ/4-5.6
Focal length
270 mm
Aperture
ƒ/6.3
Exposure
1/500
ISO sensitivity
Dual-ISO 100+400

Well, that wasn't the only good photo of today, but I am a bit tired and can't be bothered to post them all today. I'll try posting some of them after taking Miro to school tomorrow, if we don't catch whatever disease Leo is undergoing right now.

Leo has been a bit better now, but since he was throwing up all day I guess I'm not going to take him to school tomorrow.

Anyway, have a good one, and we'll see again tomorrow!



[Previous post: Filling the tank]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:












Yet another sunset (331/365)
Experimental play with "local contrast" (332/365)
Out on a walk with Ninnu (333/365)
Kuikka :: Arctic loon (334/365)
Guess who? (335/365)
Little thrush gone astray from its nest (336/365)
Someone wanted to pose for my camera... (337/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

@gamer00,
In Sri Lanka we called this bird as "Kakka" or "Kaputa"! You got a nice chance to get this photography! Honestly it's not an easy task to take such kind of photography! But you made it!

Cheers~

Even a jackdaw has an Ice cream, why can't I have one, Moooom!??

Who leaves ice cream ?? Must be someone the most strong willed person ever... I can't leave an ice cream alone until it's gone.. The jakdaw knows how it is!

I was wondering about that exact same thing.

That is a fantastic shot. How fortunate you took the opportunity to capture that moment.
Hot day... Ice cream... cant blame the little fellow,
I would find it hard to resist myself.

The bird know how to pose!, by the way, are you using analog camera/35mm too?

Yes I seem to have had luck with birds as of late.

I have a Fujica ST605n, but these days I'm all digital. I would like to shoot more film, but the shutter on the Fujica seems to think the speed doesn't matter. I should take it to repairs but such are too far from here.

I do use the three 40 year old lenses I got with the Fujica with an adapter though; two Super Carenar (35mm & 135mm f/2.8) lenses, and a Fujinon 55mm f/2.2.

OMG! You have Super Carenar (35mm & 135mm f/2.8) & Fujinon 55mm f/2.2.!, I wish you take your fujica to the repair shop, I really want to see all photos you take using fujica, I've only been new using an analog camera for the last six months , and I really like the colour of analog/film camera.

INTRO3.jpg

this my analog camera I have, best regards!

Film is nice and I like the developing part, but it is also a bit time consuming stuff. One can do it if they have plenty of time. These days the photos often have to be ready yesterday, so there is not much time for photo developing.

Oh, and digital is a bit more versatile, as you can make it look just about anything, even like a film photo with a suitable filter. Old lenses work too.

I must take some photos with the Super Carenars so you can see what they are like.

Great! i want see your photos using Super Carenars

What a lovely and clever bird. I like it when nature can work around us and find a way to get more from us. In South Africa we have Starlings (Hannibal Lecter's) and my favorite is the Cape Starling, also very clever bird and will take the chips off your plate.

The subject of the photo is so brilliant and colorful, nice work

whaaa this is something very superb generally doesn't happen like this but for me its super good photograph sir :)..

the bird had time to take your ice cream and model for your camera, excellent photo! Could you give the photographic features that you used?

Heh... thanks but those weren't our ice cream.

Could you give the photographic features that you used?

Oh, goodness, I've been forgetting to add the info. Thousand apologies, this'll be corrected. I just fixed the post and added the camera specifics and relevant settings for the photo! :)

The timing sure was perfect buddy !

While seemed like it was there for him ;)

seemed like it was there for him ;)

I didn't set it up I swear, we Miro and I were just drinking a carbonated soda water (me) and a slush drink (Miro) as we got a bit thirsty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72